Skip to content

I kind of feel like saying I’m psychic

June 2, 2008
tags:
by

Remember the news that Harlequin is accepting YA manuscripts?

I thought I figured out which deal Jane was referring to, that being Rachel Vincent’s with Mira. Maybe it was the deal, but here’s another one:

Tracy Farrell at Harlequin has acquired a new YA urban fantasy series by Gena Showalter that will launch the imprint’s forthcoming YA line in a seven-figure world rights deal with Deidre Knight. The first book is titled Intertwined and will be published in October 2009; no word on how many books in the deal.

Has anyone read Showalter’s previous YA books? I tried Oh My Goth, got bored, never finished it. Never tried Red Handed or Blacklisted.

I’m really curious what this line is going to be like. (In other words, when it launches, send me some of the books, Harlequin! I don’t subscribe, but I think I buy enough of your books anyway since you keep sending me your newly renamed Simply Books magazine, which happens to feature Gena Showalter on the cover of the Summer issue, and maybe you just happened to read what I wrote last year? Not the most, um, positive thing, I admit, but…) There’s nothing about it on Harlequin’s Writing Guidelines page, and the Kimani TRU guidelines really make it look like a series line, not a single title imprint, so which will this be? More like HQN, Luna, and Mira or more like the Harlequin/Silhouette/Kimani lines? And between the fact of Vincent’s deal and the wording of the Showalter deal and the existence of Kimani TRU, are there going to be three different YA lines or imprints? Are the Vincent books going to be moved to this YA line? (And weren’t her adult books originally going to be published by Luna before she got moved to Mira?) And most importantly, will it last longer than Bombshell?

In other romance-authors-writing-YA news, Sherrilyn Kenyon is writing (at least) two YA books, so I think it’s time I revisit my list of romance and chick lit authors also writing for teens. Especially since I somehow forgot about Katie Maxwell/Katie McAlister last time.

Most of these romance/YA authors, if I like their books, I like either the romances or the YAs, but not both. The one author I would definitely read if she wrote YA books, and most likely love the YA books as well as the romances, is probably too busy to write them. But then, Marjorie M. Liu could write a vampire-werewolf romance with a horrible Harlequin Presents-ish title (and plot, for that matter) and I would read it. And we know how I feel about vampire romances.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 4:52 am

    I read Oh My Goth and actually finished it — not fab, but not too awful. As I recall, a little too much telling, but decentish. Haven’t read the other two — this is really interesting, and yes, you ARE psychic!

  2. June 3, 2008 11:06 am

    Hehe. Now if only my psychic abilities worked with other things…

  3. June 11, 2008 7:10 am

    Oh god, Oh my Goth was horrible. Horrible. I wrote a full-fledged negative review for it. Hated that book. I’ve steered clear of Showalter ever since — it just seems like a waste to buy more of her books to see if she’s that bad or not when I could be buying other books I *know* are good. Not getting any books from this new series, that’s for sure.

    Steph

  4. July 19, 2008 8:35 am

    I’m stumbling across this pretty late, so I’m not sure how much information you’re still looking for, but Gena and I will both be writing for the same Harlequin YA line, put out under Mira Books, the imprint I currently write for.

    I think mine was the deal Dear Author originally referred to, because Gena hadn’t made hers yet at that time. However, I was not the first author to sign on for the line, though I won’t make another author’s announcement for her. ;-)

    I don’t have permission to announce specifics, like official release dates, but I know that HQ is looking for single title YAs in several genres, including paranormal (I’d call mine urban fantasy, though, because they don’t depend on the romance to propel the story) and contemporary. And they’ve already contracted at least one sci-fi.

    Other than that, all I can say is that I hope you like the books! ;-)

  5. July 20, 2008 12:58 pm

    Thanks for the info, Rachel! Sounds like there’ll be a nice variety of genres.

Trackbacks

  1. Have you seen the new SLJ Teen newsletter? « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 516 other followers

