Skip to content

Wow, Suzanne Collins

September 5, 2008

Not only does The Hunger Games score the lead book review in the new issue of Entertainment Weekly, it’s reviewed by Stephen King.

It’s also Jia’s pick for September over at Dear Author. And I feel like I’m the only person who hasn’t read it yet. *sob* Oh well, my library should be getting it soon. Right? Right?

38 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2008 3:20 pm

    I haven’t read it either, don’t worry. Though I DID just ask Scholastic for a copy … hopefully they have some left for wittle ol’ me!

    Steph

  2. September 5, 2008 5:47 pm

    I just bought it at Barnes and Noble tonight.

  3. September 6, 2008 2:12 am

    I haven’t read it either… and the likelihood of it happening anytime soon is really, REALLY slim. *sob!*

  4. September 6, 2008 8:04 am

    run. don’t walk. it’s an awesome read. :)
    my fav line of that review? “Gabe is smoldering. It says so on page 14.” awesome.

  5. September 6, 2008 6:06 pm

    Sarah, I second your comment. This is a true page turner. I was fortunate enough to read a borrowed ARC a couple weeks ago and I loved it. I’ve never read a book that ends the chapters in the most heart stopping ways. You can’t help but go on. Very action packed.

    Has anyone heard anything about the sequels? I’m assuming there will be sequels, but I haven’t heard anything concrete. I’m dying to know when I can read more about Kat & Peeta.

    • Juliette permalink
      March 8, 2009 3:59 am

      It’s a trilogy. Book Two “Chasing Fire” comes out in Autumn 2009.

  6. September 8, 2008 10:36 am

    Hunger Games is awesome. King didn’t fully do it justice.

    The sequel is called Catching Fire and is due out Sept 09. There’ll be a third book too.

  7. September 10, 2008 4:15 am

    I haven’t read it either! But Cheryl Rainfield is giving away three copies at her blog, and I just know that I’m going to win…I hope.

  8. September 12, 2008 12:08 pm

    You must get it! It was amazing . . . I read it in a day, gave it to my husband, who read it in a day, who gave it to my 17 year old sister, who read it in a day . . . etc.

    Just a brutal, fast read.

  9. Emma permalink
    September 25, 2008 3:58 pm

    I just finished the Twilight series (again) and I luv luv luv them I was on Stephine Meyer’s website and she recommended this book i read the first chapter online and I can’t wait to read the rest!!!!!!!!

  10. Haley permalink
    October 8, 2008 6:39 pm

    Haha that’s funny. I did the exact same thing as you, Emma. I was so addicted to Meyers’ Twilight series and knew, after reading them twice, that I had to find another book. That’s when I saw that Stephenie had recommended this book. I read the first chapter online and immediately went out to get the book so I could read the rest.

  11. Emily permalink
    October 9, 2008 7:09 am

    WOW,thats the only word i can think of for this novel! Right from the beggining i was hooked , theres action romance and drama; I would not be surprised if this book makes it HUGE!My advice to anyone reading this, STOP and GET “THE HUNGER GAMES”.

  12. October 14, 2008 4:39 am

    I, too, loved the Twilight series and was browsing Stepanie Meyer’s website and found this book. Read it in one weekend! Fantastic page-turner! Was sick to see “End of book one” one the last page – I didn’t realize she wrote series books – cannot wait till sept 09 for the next book!

  13. cdoxey permalink
    October 17, 2008 9:15 am

    I check Stephenie Meyer’s website like everyday, so when she recommended this book i thought why not. once i got it from my library i could not put it down. I read it twice then went out and bought it. I can not wait for the next one to come out and since Twilight is over until the movie comes out this book gives me something to look forward to.
    I recommend this book. i loved it i hope the next one is not as gruesome.

  14. Natalie Rose permalink
    October 20, 2008 5:32 pm

    I loved every part of this book, and i’ve been looking for a way to find any information about the sequels and i’m so glad to finally know that there will actually be one. its a book you can’t stop thinking about!!!! Kat is one of my favorite characters to read about!!

  15. Holly permalink
    October 25, 2008 3:54 am

    I read the first chapter of The Hunger Games on Amazon and it was AMAZING!!!! I went to the library and got it as soon as I could. I finished the book in 2 days, it was amazing! It had drama, action and romance.
    I also heard about the book from Stephenie Meyer’s website. I read about it on her website and I thought “Well, if she wrote the amazing Twilight series, and she loves this book, it has to be good, right?”
    I also loved the Twilight series, it was amazing! I recommended it to a few people and they fell in love with it!

  16. November 12, 2008 12:33 pm

    This book was the best I’ve read in a long time. It kept me preoccupied throughout the whole day, and balanced the right amount of romance, suspense, and drama.

  17. RAchel permalink
    November 14, 2008 6:32 pm

    This book was….WOW, it kept me all night! and after i finished it , i couldnt help thinking about it, i loved evertyhing about it, cant wait till the next book!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. November 28, 2008 7:06 am

    Well, i think in the sequel Katniss will not keep pretending to like Peeta but (i’m hoping) that she’ll start liking Gale. I can tell there wil bee 2nd book because at the end of the book 1 it says END OF BOOK 1. Thats a BIG hint. I read the Twilight Sei\ries and saw the movie and the Hunger Games would be right next to them on my favorite book list.

  19. Destiny permalink
    November 28, 2008 1:26 pm

    This book was soo awesome i’m a 14 year old freshman at east and this book had me on my feet the moment i started reading it.I thought it was gonna be dumb because of the title but the way it ending about the romance with katniss and peeta and the cave it’s adorable but i’m gonna finish now read this book!!!

  20. Stephanie Le permalink
    November 29, 2008 6:41 am

    i really want kat and gale to get together
    no offense to peeta or anything. i still think he’s awesome
    but i like gale a whole lot more

  21. atheba permalink
    December 30, 2008 6:24 pm

    I am in middle school and got this book at my bookfair! I loved this book it is action filled and a romance too! I can’t wait until september 2009 for catching fire to come out! – can’t get this book off my mind!

  22. Laura permalink
    January 4, 2009 4:55 pm

    Oh my God! When i saw the recommendation for this book on Stephanie Meyers website I went asap to the book store to buy it. I was not disappointed one bit, its now defiantly one of my favorite books of all time!

    I am team Gale. Peeta is to wimpy for my tastes. Kat spend like half the book babysitting him, and healing the injuries he always gets stupidly. Like seriously, couldn’t he for once save her instead of vice versa? Its nice not to have the typical “guy-saves-usless-girl” thing going on (like twilight) but having the guy always saved by the girl is even worse. There should be more of a balance (they can take turns being the damsel in distress) Give him a few karate lessons and teach him to climb a fricken tree and i will root for him. haha :).

  23. Hannah permalink
    January 16, 2009 9:03 pm

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!! this was the best book i have ever read (other than Twilight) If you havent read this book you defently need to start. It makes me so mad I have to wait another 7 months to learn what happens with Kat and peeta.

  24. erin permalink
    February 21, 2009 12:40 pm

    I’d found this book in my school library. I would go in at lunches to read as much as i could because I did not have my ID and memorizing the number was not an option. (you can guess how well that went over with my friends) Eventually, i got tired of waiting for lunch to find out what happened so i went out and bought it. Am now awaiting the sequel with high hopes and expectations. :D

  25. Becki permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:38 am

    I thought that the hunger games was brill !!!!! But i did not like the twilight series, Stephanie Meyer’s books are like high school musical. People will love the books and then forget about them. Besides Stephanie Meyer copies J.K Rowling in the mediator series. I loved the hunger games, there is so much fantastic things in it, it could take ages to list. Now Suzanne Collins is someone worth to be praised.

  26. Becki permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:43 am

    But if you want a good book vampire book you should try the marked trilogy (house of night) by P.C Cast and Kristin. All the books in the trilogy are marked, betrayed and chosen. I finished marked in a day and it took me a week to finish twilight. Marked takes a while to get into but once i finished it, I could not wait for the next book chosen. You have to try and read it. It’s not one so romantic and soppy but more exciting and intrigueing and it doesn’t drag on and on, which is the sign of a good book. :)

  27. Laura permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:47 am

    I agree with Becki the marked trilogy first book was great, now i have started reading the second one which is called Betrayed and that is even better. I love it! Woohooo for Suzanne Collins! I am only in year 9 and i managed to finish the first one in under a day, and i finished the hunger games in a day as well, and it normally takes me over a week. But i love reading now! :D :D :D :D :D

  28. Marilyn permalink
    March 1, 2009 9:20 am

    Sorry, just going to quickly disagree with the post Laura wrte way up there, about Katniss always saving Peeta and healing injuries that he gets stupidly. I don’t believe this is true. The major injury she helps him with (the cut that Cato gave him on his leg) occured when he was saving her from Cato. And he spent the entire time that he was with the careers leading them away from her, giving them mis-information (We find out after the Games have ended) I think this makes them pretty equal. And you can’t expect him to be as good a woodsman as she is. He never had to hunt for food, he has a different set of skills.

    An amazing book. I’m one of many looking forward to September, and Catching Fire.

  29. Joe permalink
    March 11, 2009 7:24 am

    The second book in the series is called Catching Fire and it is supposed to be published in September 2009

  30. Tori permalink
    March 21, 2009 6:14 am

    I just finished The Hunger Games and i loved it! I didn’t realize it was going to have a sequel until i got to the last page and saw it said end of book one. I am so sad now that i have to wait until september to read chasing fire. I loved the hunger games and i read it in about 3 days. It was amazing i would recommend it to anyone :)

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 520 other followers

