Skip to content

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

December 14, 2008

US cover of Jellicoe Road by Melina MarchettaFrom the prologue:

My father took one hundred and thirty-two minutes to die.

I counted.

It happened on the Jellicoe Road. The prettiest road I’d ever seen, where trees made breezy canopies like a tunnel to Shangri-La. We were going to the ocean, hundreds of miles away, because I wanted to see the ocean and my father said that it was about time the four of us made that journey. I remember asking, “What’s the difference between a trip and a journey?” and my father said, “Narnie, my love, when we get there, you’ll understand,” and that was the last thing he ever said.

As with Undone, I don’t want to give too much away about Melina Marchetta‘s Jellicoe Road. If you’re feeling adventurous, I recommend just diving into the book without reading the jacket copy or looking for more information about it. (In other words, don’t expect much plot summary in this review. Shocking, I know! :) ) I will say that this is not a book for everyone. I can easily see teens picking this up and loving it, and I can also see teens giving up, even if you warn them that it’s tough going for a while. Myself, I loved this book. Right now, it’s my favorite book of the year. It’s a great book to hand to adults—both those familiar and unfamiliar with contemporary YA fiction—and, I have to say, I wouldn’t be surprised if this at least gets a Printz Honor, assuming it’s eligible for the award. (Although, after this past year’s winner and honor books, what do I know about how these committees think?)

Jellicoe Road is a book that demands a second reading. Partly because the characters and story were so indelibly created that I wanted to continue reading about them, but also because of how the story is structured. Beyond the prologue, which is only two pages long, we’re given no background info about anything. Not about the characters, not about the setting, not about the events that will take place. We read about the various characters and the school and events that play a role in the story, but are in the dark as to their importance, history, and relationships.

The first half of the book is difficult to comprehend because of this. We’re thrown into the middle of, well, something, with no explanation of what’s going on. The various characters aren’t so much introduced as they are captured in the midst of the action, and what background information is given early on about everyone and everything is not contextualized. Things happen, a lot of things, but Marchetta doesn’t place special emphasis on what is essential for readers to pick up on or explain the connections between the various elements. Instead, she gracefully and subtly fills in the blanks as the story goes on, and it’s left to the reader to put everything together. Little by little, as Taylor (the narrator) begins to learn more about the past and about herself, things start to make sense.

I’m a bit afraid I may have made Jellicoe Road seem a bit scary or intimidating. And it does, to be honest, require some effort on the part of the reader, but I also think that there is enough promise of a story, a reason to keep on reading, underlying everything that readers will become aware of, even if they pick the book up on their own with no assurance that it will start to make sense.

I’ve been thinking of the story as a jigsaw puzzle. At first, it’s confusing and perhaps more than a bit overwhelming. Gradually, we start putting the pieces together, in segments that start off small and may not be connected to each other, until we reach the point that we can join everything together, with only a few final pieces left to be put in place. And this, more than anything, is why I feel that it demands rereading. Because as much as I came to love the book the first time around, reading it again, with awareness and foreknowledge of who is who and what happened and why it’s so important, made the story so much richer. And it made me appreciate everything about the book even more: the structure, which was intricate yet seemed so effortlessly done; the prose, which was at times heartbreakingly beautiful, but also deceptively simple; the story, which is about friendship and family and love and loss and forgiveness and connections and learning to live and so much more, since I haven’t discussed the story at all here; and the characters, with all their complications and sorrow and hope, whom I continue to think about.

This is, in a sense, a book that sucks you in right away. I mean, remember the prologue? How could I not finish a book that begins this way? But it’s also a book that requires patience and trust, believing that everything confusing will fall into place and that the time and effort spent reading will be worth it. For me, it more than was.

Jellicoe Road is a Cybils YA Fiction nominee and has also been reviewed by Becky and Jocelyn.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2008 2:21 am

    This book is part of Girl Week. Your review makes me intimidated to write my own because you pretty much said it all. This is a departure from Melina’s earlier works, but I thought it was very, very good.

    (Dude, I can’t sound articulate at ALL when I’m talking about Melina Marchetta. I just love her work too much.)

    Steph

  2. December 15, 2008 8:50 am

    I love your review. You said it so perfectly. I just love, love, love this book as you know. And it’s in my top three at least for the year. I want to make time to reread it so badly :)

  3. December 15, 2008 2:37 pm

    Thanks, guys!

    And, Steph, I’m looking forward to your review. Especially since it’s part of Girl Week. (So, no pressure or anything!)

  4. December 15, 2008 7:14 pm

    I’m very psyched to read this one as I loved, loved, loved her character building in SAVING FRANCESCA with the heat of one thousand suns. I have her current fantasy in my stack to read as well, but I need to finish AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES first.

  5. Jen permalink
    December 16, 2008 7:27 am

    I agree!! I nominated it for the Printz as soon as I finished it. So great!!!

  6. December 16, 2008 11:17 am

    Jen – Great! I was hoping someone nominated it, since I didn’t read it until after the deadline for field nominations had passed.

  7. December 17, 2008 8:32 pm

    Scheduled this to be posted in 4 hours (dude, 4AM, I need to go to sleep…). Could never compare to yours, though :P Seriously LOVE your review, Trisha.

  8. December 18, 2008 1:45 pm

    Jellicoe was my favorite YA of the year, too. Melina does amazing interviews.

    http://noveljourney.blogspot.com/2008/11/ya-author-interview-melina-marchetta.html

  9. farrin permalink
    January 4, 2009 3:41 pm

    Great review! I was the US editor on this book, so I’m biased, but, yeah, it’s such an amazing novel. And it’s funny, because after my first reading I had planned to ask Melina to add more context and make it easier for people, but then I re-read it and realized the not-knowing was kind of part of the experience and Melina was so brilliant in her plotting and character development that it needed to be the way it was. Your review totally gets that experience.
    And thanks to the person who nominated it for a Printz. Naturally, I, too, was hoping someone would…

  10. Kirsten permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:44 pm

    I want to thank you for this review — I skimmed it back when you wrote it, jotted down the title on my to-read list, and now, having finished this beautiful, beautiful book, I agree with everything you said. Loved it.

    • April 23, 2009 10:41 am

      No, thank you! It makes any blogger’s day to hear/read something like this. And I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

  11. Audrey permalink
    September 4, 2009 7:20 am

    I read this review ages ago (well, just the first couple paragraphs) and decided to take your advice and not find out ANY information about it, including summaries or plots, just to jump straight in. Well, I finished it yesterday, and you’re completely right, I need to read it again, it was SO good. I’m happy I didn’t know anything about it before, it really added to the ‘experience’ and made the book that much better. Wonderful review, and thanks for the reccomendation!! :)

    • September 15, 2009 10:01 pm

      Ooh, I love it when people tell me they read Jellicoe Road because of my review and enjoyed the book. So gratifying! And thanks for letting me know.

  12. taylor markham permalink
    March 31, 2010 4:19 pm

    I loved this book. it is one of my all time favorites. the first half is difficult to understand; i got my friend to read this book and during the first half she kept asking me what was going on.

  13. shea permalink
    April 5, 2011 6:01 pm

    I loved this book! I read it 2 years ago in 6th Grade and although it was confusing at first i soon got it and loved it!!! Right now I have to write a book report thing on my favorite book and i chose this one. Although I’m having troubles remembering some of it…. can someone help and tell me some of the main important events in the book?

Trackbacks

  1. The Sarah Dessen Diarist
  2. Oh my god! Jellicoe Road! « The YA YA YAs
  3. 2009 Printz Winner and Honors « Bookworm 4 Life
  4. Saving Francesca « Bookworm 4 Life
  5. Broken Soup by Jenny Valentine « The YA YA YAs
  6. REVIEW: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta | Dear Author: Romance Novel Reviews, Industry News, and Commentary
  7. Jellicoe Road « A High and Hidden Place
  8. Review – Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta | Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin'?
  9. 2010 books I can’t wait to read « The YA YA YAs
  10. My top 10 YA novels « The YA YA YAs
  11. Under the radar Printz picks « The YA YA YAs
  12. Cybils shortlists announced… « The YA YA YAs
  13. Maybe I should start a tumblr « The YA YA YAs
  14. Hey there « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 517 other followers

