Skip to content

So, furloughs

December 1, 2009
by

15 days through the rest of this fiscal year, and another 15 days next fiscal year.

On the other hand, no libraries are closing, no full-time employees were let go, and in terms of this blog, I’m hoping this will mean that with the extra time off (albeit unpaid), I’ll have more energy to post.

Anyway, I’ve had a post comparing the writing styles in Charles and Emma: The Darwin’s Leap of Faith and Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice sitting as a draft for a couple of weeks because I’m having trouble articulating exactly what I want to say.

As far as YA fiction goes, there hasn’t been anything so spectacular that I’ve just *had* to blog about it. The best was probably Shooting Star by Fredrick McKissack Jr., only it was so well-written that I couldn’t actually bring myself to finish reading it. (Also, the half that I did read was more really good than spectacular.) Jomo Rodgers is a high school football player who is starting to attract some attention from recruiters, but he is not quite big enough to be a real blue chip recruit. The only way he can bulk up, Jomo starts to think, is by using steroids. McKissack had me rooting for Jomo and made me so attached to him that I couldn’t bear to read the entire book and see his life unravel.

In brief, here are some books that I did finish reading and which I meant to blog about but never got around to reviewing, starting from back in August.

All the Broken Pieces by Ann Burg
The cover, I have to say, is perfect for the book. I can’t see many teens picking it up without a lot of pushing, but it is beautifully written and very much deserving of all the praise it’s received.

Gray Baby by Scott Loring Sanders
Started off strong, then became muddled, overly ambitious, relied on too much coincidence, and concluded with a resolution that wrapped everything up too neatly and prettily.

Exclusively Chloe by J. A. Yang
A good pick for Robin Palmer fans.

Blood Promise by Richelle Mead
Long. Way too long.

Dragonfly by Julia Golding
I just read this last night, then saw Tasha’s rave review of it at Kids Lit this morning. I am on the fence about this book right now, because there were parts that I liked (royals with a sense of responsibility and duty!), parts that I didn’t (the evil king being just Eeeevil, and his sister, who is cruel, ferocious, can handle a sword, and did I mention ugly?), and a rather slow start (for reasons I can understand) before lots of action and adventure. In some ways, I found it more reminiscent of fairy tale retellings than anything else.

And, um, I know I also read other YA books, but I can’t remember what they are right now.

Finally, two links:

“There is a very big difference between writing for children and writing for young adults. The first thing I would say is that “Young Adult” does not mean “Older Children”, it really does mean young but adult, and the category should be seen as a subset of adult literature, not of children’s books.” – Garth Nix, in an interview at Tor.com

Melina Marchetta’s Printz speech at Likely Stories

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 12:10 am

    Oh, hey. Good to hear. Furlough is better than lay-offs and closures.

  2. December 3, 2009 10:47 am

    Is your library closed for a month straight? Or is the second 15 days spread out thought 2010. I hope that y’all had some warning and it wasn’t just sprung on you.

  3. Diane permalink
    December 3, 2009 12:32 pm

    The furlough days are all spread out, with each month having 2-3 furlough days. We not only had a lot of warning, I personally have been WAITING to hear exactly when our furlough days would be. The furloughs have been in the works for several months…

  4. December 3, 2009 8:37 pm

    We knew for a couple of months that there were going to be furloughs; we just found out the exact dates for this fiscal year earlier this week.

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 510 other followers

