Skip to content

Random linkage

January 13, 2010
by

If you’re interested in cover design, a fascinating post at the new Macmillan Children’s Group blog about Caragh O’Brien’s upcoming novel, Birthmarked. I like the final cover better than the earlier incarnations, but what is it about dystopian novels and girls with hair flying around on the covers? And, wow, the Birthmarked cover reminds me of The Other Side of the Island.

cover of Birthmarked by Caragh M. O'Brien cover of The Other Side of the Island by Allegra Goodman cover of The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

This link is a bit old, but designer Henry Sene Yee on the cover of The Other Side of the Island.

Maybe I should just be glad there are actual faces on the above covers?

I was very proud of myself for kinda sorta making a prediction about Jellicoe Road and the Printz last year. This year? Well, I haven’t read enough of the books, but of those I did read, my money is on Philip Hoose’s Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice, though it seems to be receiving more support in various mock awards for the Newbery than the Printz. Youth Services Corner has a roundup of some Mock Printzes, and there’s a lot of love for Marcelo in the Real World, which I also love, but I don’t know… I think it’ll get an honor, but am unsure, for some reason, about a win. I’ll be happy if either of these wins, though. The most surprising mock Printz pick I’ve seen is Rick Yancey’s The Monstrumologist. (Also, the overall book design of The Monstrumologist is, as noted at Jacket Whys, among the best of the year, if not the best.)

No clue on the Morris Award. I haven’t read any of the nominees yet, but I’ve got Ash checked out right now and hope to get to it before Monday. Malinda Lo on her first sale.

More awards predictions at Abby (the) Librarian, The Book Case, and A Fuse #8 Production. Caldecott predictions at 100 Scope Notes, and a great Behind the Caldecott Scenes interview with Ed Spicer there, too.

You can count me among the folks unhappy with the proposed changes to BBYA.

This caveman diet article reminds me of Robin Brande’s Fat Cat. (via)

I’m still working on my 10 favorite YA books list. One guess at what I’m putting at #1.

Finally, I posted my 2010 books I can’t wait to read list too soon because I just spotted Jennifer Donnelly’s Revolution at amazon.com.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 1:25 pm

    Of course, don’t forget “Genesis” and the wild hair!

  2. January 13, 2010 2:25 pm

    New Jennifer Donnelly? YAAAY!
    Also, the Macmillan cover design post is fab (and that one cover? With the huge, staring baby face? Totally freaky…)

    And I’m not a YALSA member, but the changes sound unfortunate. If making the lists are too much work, maybe they need to recruit some of those people who stood up at ALA or the people who are blogging about how much they dislike the changes?

  3. January 13, 2010 2:28 pm

    Great links! Thanks for sharing.

  4. January 13, 2010 3:36 pm

    I love these links, particularly the one about BBYA.

  5. January 14, 2010 4:00 am

    Genesis, by Bernard Beckett, goes the hair thing one further–the hair is blowing into the cover from off stage, and there is no face at all!.

  6. January 15, 2010 7:43 am

    (coming from comment carnival!) i recently read a blog post about headless women. now hair blowing! lovely site. Am really quite into YA so will definitely put you into my blogroll!

  7. January 15, 2010 5:41 pm

    I love the covers :)

  8. January 16, 2010 4:59 pm

    Thanks, Kelly and Charlotte, for mentioning Genesis. Putting that cover up might have made the publishing myths link even funnier.

    Abby and Liviania – There were some emails on the YALSA-BK listserv about changing the terms of members, but the board just approved the changes earlier today, so the lists WILL be changing.

    aloi – Thanks! I’ve not been doing a good job keeping up with the comment challenge, but I am getting back in the habit of commenting again, so it has been good for me in that sense.

  9. January 18, 2010 9:13 am

    I think the hair blowing goes along with chaos. It’s wild and unmanageable when blown around like that (speaking as someone with waist-length hair!) and don’t forget that until recently, “good” women generally put their hair up or covered it. I’ve always thought there’s a lot of cultural stuff attached to hair, particularly female hair.

  10. January 19, 2010 11:07 pm

    We love our hair here in America, haha. They must think it looks dramatic and maybe dangerous? “These girls explore and fight in impossibly terrible worlds, and their hair STILL looks great.” Maybe it’s a Pantene conspiracy!

Trackbacks

  1. Hunger Games book 3 cover announced « Librarified
  2. Librarified » Hunger Games book 3 cover announced (and more on book covers)

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 511 other followers

