Skip to content

2010 RITA Nominations, and a bit of commentary

March 25, 2010
by

Young Adult Romance Finalists

  • Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog
    Random House Group, Delacorte Press
    Editor:
    ISBN: 978-0-385-738494
  • Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover by Ally Carter
    Hyperion Books for Children
    Editor: Jennifer Besser
    ISBN: 978-1-423-11638-7
  • Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
    Walker Books for Young Readers
    Editor: Emily Easton
    ISBN: 978-0-8027-9823-7
  • Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols
    Simon & Schuster, Pocket Books, MTV Books
    Editor: Jennifer Heddle
    ISBN: 978-1-416-57173-5
  • The ABC’s of Kissing Boys by Tina Ferraro
    Random House Group, Delacorte Press
    Editor: Krista Marino
    ISBN: 978-0-385-73582-7
  • Nothing Like You by Lauren Strasnick
    Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
    Editor: Anica Rissi
    ISBN: 978-1-416-98264-7

Nothing Like You is also a finalist for Best First Book.

Congratulations to all the authors, as well as Gwenda Bond, who will receive the Veritas Award for her Publishers Weekly article, “Romancing the Recession.”

The difficult thing about discussing RITA nominations (“honoring romance ficiton published in 2009,” in the case of this year’s titles) from a reader’s perspective is that you have no way of knowing which books could have been nominated. There’s a limit on the number of books that can be entered, among other requirements, so who knows whether the book you’d think should be nominated/win was among the entries or not? You can’t exactly say that Book A should have been picked instead of Book B, because Book B sucked, when you don’t know if Book A was entered in time, or was entered at all.

I usually look at the list of nominees and think, as I scan the titles, “Never heard of it; never heard of it; meh; oh, that was a good one; meh; meh; really!?; uhhhh; I’m so glad this made it!; never heard of it…”*

I’ve only read 3 of the 6 YA finalists (though I have heard of all of them, so it’s good to know I’m doing my job), and while I don’t think Perfect Chemistry was well-written, in the literary quality sense, it is by far my favorite book of the bunch. But you probably figured that out already.

And, hey, since I’m talking about the RITAs, I’ll plug some of the nominees in other categories. Laura Griffin‘s Whisper of Warning (Romantic Suspense) is the the book I was happiest to see make the list, since I really, really liked it and don’t think it’s gotten as much attention as it deserves. Alissa Johnson‘s Tempting Fate (Regency Historical, and I know! I usually avoid Regency Historicals because there are so freaking many of them,** but rather liked this one) and Elisabeth Naughton‘s Stolen Fury (First Book, Romantic Suspense) are fun if you’re willing to suspend some disbelief. These last two kind of lost their way towards the end. I still enjoyed them, though.

* this year, there was “An epub? I didn’t know they were eligible” (in a positive way) thrown in, as well

** in the same way that I’ll often buy historicals with unusual settings, just on principle

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 3:40 pm

    Have you read Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols. I find it’s a great romance but also with lots of character depth.

    • March 25, 2010 3:55 pm

      I have! You can read my thoughts in the comments to Maureen’s review. I think it does some things very well (and, in terms of the quality of the writing — but not the overall effect of the story — it’s better written than Perfect Chemistry) and wanted to like it more, but I had one very big problem with it that got in my way. I know I’m in the minority in my reaction to the book, though.

  2. Nevey Berry permalink
    April 16, 2010 6:21 am

    I wish they do so in Egypt. It’s hard for me to buy new books and I end up moneyless.

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Midday Links: It’s Release Time Again | Dear Author: Romance Novel Reviews, Industry News, and Commentary
  2. A belated* list of my notable reads of 2012 « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 514 other followers

