Skip to content

Covers, Part 1: Cindy Pon’s Silver Phoenix

July 1, 2010

A couple of things about covers I want to discuss, but I’m separating the topics into different posts.* First off, Cindy Pon’s Silver Phoenix (which I reviewed last year and enjoyed very much, and check out my interview with Cindy while you’re at it) will have a new cover when it is released in paperback, in anticipation of the sequel, Fury of the Phoenix.

And the cover of Fury of the Phoenix:

I’m glad that Greenwillow is publishing Silver Phoenix in paperback and wants it to reach a wider audience. It’s just, well, as I commented at Reading In Color:

Sigh. This is just so disappointing. I loved the original Silver Phoenix cover, and now HC/Greenwillow is getting rid of everything that made it beautiful and distinctive and making the new ones look so blah and generic and Kelley Armstrong-ish. To lose not only the Asian-ness, but to also go from a defiant and determined young woman to those passive, obscured faces? It makes me sad. (And does it make me a bad Asian-American that the lack of Asian-ness is not the main thing that bothers me, but just one several equally bothersome things? Because *I do* wish the new covers had a more recognizably Asian look — preferably via an Asian face — but Ai Ling seems so much weaker now.)

What do you think?

Also, be sure to read Cindy Pon’s thoughts on the cover change.

* yes, this is partly because doing so will increase the quantity and frequency of my blogging, at least in the short term.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 6:43 pm

    Oh. OH! Fail! It looks like every other quasi-paranormal book about a Very Special Girl, whose Very Special Girl playset comes complete with Super-Special Powahs, Arch-Villain Who is Probably a Mean Girl, and Swoony Love Interest* on my library shelf. Nothing to make it stand out. The hardcover caught my eye because it was so different! I’m very sad. (Yet happy for the sequel.)

    *do not assume that I object to swoony love interests as a general rule. I just object to them as a prepackaged element of the Very Special Girl playset.

  2. Marie permalink
    July 16, 2010 2:52 pm

    Boy, those new covers are awful. I must admit, I thought the original cover was a touch over the top (though I liked its bold colors and the way it directly featured its Asian protagonist), but the new covers look like every bland vampire (or other recently cool fantasy element) novel that’s come out in the past year.

  3. July 19, 2010 8:25 pm

    Is it just me, or does the new cover of Silver Phoenix look a little bit like Michael Jackson? Is that what they were going for?? Check out this photo, and scroll it down to where you just see the bottom part of his face.

    Michael Jackson-esque or not, I would have no interest in this book based on the new cover. I’m not interested in another book about a broody, tormented teenaged girl. The first cover might not be what I’m looking for either, but it would at least catch my eye enough to make me pick it up in a store.

    So disappointing.

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

