Skip to content

Gut feelings

January 19, 2012

Here are my Youth Media Awards predictions based on nothing more than gut feelings. My gut turned out to be surprisingly accurate last year, except for the YALSA Nonfiction Award, but who knows about this year; the following predictions could be way off base.

Printz Award
I think A.S. King will pull a David Almond (Skelling, 2000 Honor; Kit’s Wilderness, 2001 winner) and win for Everybody Sees the Ants (which did earn six starred reviews, per Whitney’s list).

I think A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, as much as I love it and hope it gets recognized, won’t even get an honor. This year’s Marcelo in the Real World, especially considering its performance in Mock Printzes (go check out Whitney’s Mock Printz roundup at Youth Services Corner!). I would *love* to be proved wrong on this one, though.

I think Chime by Franny Billingsley (which looks like the only book besides Everybody Sees the Ants to earn six stars) will get an honor.

Margaret A. Edwards Award
This could go to practically anyone, but I’d love to see Tamora Pierce honored.

Morris Award
I haven’t read Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley yet, but I think it’s going to win.

Nonfiction Award
After the last two years, I have no idea.

Odyssey Award
The Odyssey goes to “to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults,” not a book or author. So my pick is Scholastic Audiobooks for Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. Narrated by the author x different voices for the various characters + sound effects!

Other Youth Media Awards
Batchelder — I think a publisher will be honored for a children’s book I haven’t read. Then again, how many YA books in translation were published this year? Two? (Ruby Red and The Midnight Palace. Am I missing any?). So I probably should say I’m sure the Batchelder will go to a publisher for a children’s book I haven’t read. Delacorte for The Lily Pond by Annika Thor, to follow up their win in 2010, maybe?

Schneider Family — Um… The only 2011 YA book I remember reading with a disabled character is The Running Dream by Wendelin van Draanen, which I liked but am not sure it fits the award criteria, which states in part “Must portray the emotional, mental, or physical disability as part of a full life, not as something to be pitied or overcome.” Jessica gets there at the end, but the amputation *is* something she has to overcome, right?

Who else is planning on watching the webcast on Monday morning? Do you have any predictions or titles you’d like to see win?

For predictions and coverage of awards I didn’t mention, check out:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 6:34 am

    I hadn’t thought of Tamora Pierce for the Margaret A. Edwards Award but I very loudly second that nomination. Great predictions!

  2. January 21, 2012 11:13 am

    Unlike the Bangles I wish it were Monday. Come on Youth Media Awards

Trackbacks

  1. And my reading list gets even longer « The YA YA YAs
  2. Librarian Blogs « SLM508KMD
  3. It’s Youth Media Awards prediction time! « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 517 other followers

