Skip to content

Whistle at Whistler Public Library

March 28, 2007
by


I find myself oddly jealous again of a library somewhere else. This time it’s the Whistler Public Library in British Columbia, Canada. The sad part is, it’s not even finished yet. Sure the structure is up, but it has no books, no walls, no plumbing.

So here are the reasons why I am jealous of the WPL:

1) It’s smack dab in the middle of Whistler Village in the center of Main Street no less;

2) They started up in 1986 with a tiny collection (less than 5,000 books), and they only service a population of less than 10,000 yet their circulation is comparable to my library’s;

3) The floorplan of the new building includes a lovely “living room” complete with fireplace;

4) The librarians can go skiing and/or snowboarding on their days off;

5) There’s a somewhat captive library user base when the weather’s bad.

Well, that’s enough of that rant. I probably just need a change of scenery every now and then and I can’t help but fantasize about working in a library somewhere else sometimes. Hopefully my neighbor island booktalk will give me enough of a getaway to help me appreciate the islands again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2007 11:40 pm

    A fireplace? Okay, that alone makes me jealous.

    Then again, I’m sure there are some Canadian librarians who would be jealous of your library, simply based on location, right?

  2. December 20, 2007 6:57 am

    Really nice site you have here. I’ve been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work

join the discussion

