Skip to content

Non-Fiction Kick

April 9, 2007
by

blingLennon

I’ve been on a non-fiction kick as of recent. I blame it on Bling, the Hip-Hop Jewelry Book by Reggie Osse. I feel such a guilty pleasure when I read about certain things, life’s little luxuries included. Bling successfully combines elements of pop cultural references with history in a neat little package complete with glossy photos. If you’re fascinated by shiny things as much as I am, you’re sure to appreciate Bling and its fabulousness.

When I first saw the John Lennon biography, I groaned. I thought out loud to the children’s librarian, “what teen is going to know John Lennon? ” Then I got around to reading John Lennon: All I Want is the Truth and realized, hey, there’s more to this book than just a dude who was famous and died earlier than most of the teens I know can remember. There’s the common thread of what it takes to be a musician and an artist. There’s elements of Lennon not knowing who he was and what to do or where to go. There’s so many themes that a YA can relate to it made me realize, hey, this book is worth a try and worth me booktalking. This book didn’t pull any punches about Lennon’s drug use or affairs. It presented them in a way that doesn’t judge. I couldn’t put it down until my curiosity was satiated. So I now hang my head in shame that I was ready to dismiss this gem of a book as not current enough to interest any teen. In an effort to alleviate some of my guilt, I will definitely booktalk John Lennon: All I Want is the Truth by Elizabeth Partridge at my next school visit.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 19, 2007 3:41 pm

    Do you happen to have a section on your blog where you have people suggest books for you to check out?

    I always like to see what people are reading, but I also have a habit of wanting to yammer on about all the books I’m digging as well….

join the discussion

