Skip to content

Haruki Murakami and the Big Island Booktalk

April 20, 2007
by

I’ve been obsessing over Haruki Murakami who technically isn’t a YA author but changed my life in 1995. I was a senior in high school and finicky reader as I still am today, Murakami opened new doors for me in the literary realm. He was one of the first translated authors that I read and opened my eyes to the possibilities of works from around the world. I’ve debated with myself whether or not to include one of his works in the YA section in my library, since he had such a profound effect on me and my attitude toward literature in general, but have always come to the same conclusion: there is a decent sampling of his work in our adult fiction and the protagonists in his stories although young are not technically young adults–they’re college age and thus adults. Murakami for me fills a void in perspective. The lack of Asian American voices in writing to this day haunts me. We will cover this topic in a separate entry at a later date.

The reason for my newfangled obsession with finding information is that Murakami is doing a Q&A for a Youth Literature Conference being held at the University next weekend. The likes of Chris Crutcher and Graham Salisbury will also be there. I’m excited to say the least.

I’m also hyped about my booktalk on Kona. Although I find flying out at the crack of dawn exhausting, the enthusiasm that greets me on the neighbor islands more than rejuvenates me. I’m planning on bringing this cache with me:

10 Things to do Before I Die by Daniel Ehrenhaft

Black and White by Paul Volponi

Midnighters: The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld

With a Little Luck by Dennis Fradin

Invisible Enemies: Stories of Infectious Diseases by Jeanette Farrell

Fever, 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson

Bound by Donna Jo Napoli

Teen People Celebrity Beauty Guide

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

Secrets of My Hollywood Life by Jen Calonita

The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

It’s Happy Bunny: Love Bites by Jim Benton

Kokology: The Game of Self Discovery by Tadahiko Nagao

Mythbusters: The Explosive Truth Behind 30 of the Most Perplexing Urban Legends of All Time by Keith Zimmerman

Big Bento Box of Unuseless Inventions by Kenji Kawakami

Teens Cook by Megan Carle

Odd Jobs: Portraits of Unusual Occupations by Nancy Schiff

Bling: The Hip Hop Jewelry Book by Reggie Osse

The Bead Jewelry Maker by Cheryl Owen

KnitGrrl by Shannon Okey

Got Tape? By Ellie Schiedermayer

Dollar Store Décor by Mark Montano

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook by Joshua Piven

My Kind of Sad: What It’s Like to be Young and Sad by Kate Scowen

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies by Sonya Sones

2 Comments leave one →
  1. paul volponi permalink
    May 1, 2007 3:29 pm

    Thanks for takling up Black and White, I have something new coming this month called Rucker Park Setup, which I think you’ll like. –Paul Volponi

  2. hiyalibrarian permalink*
    May 1, 2007 6:26 pm

    Thanks for writing a great book to booktalk.

join the discussion

