Skip to content

Trendwatch: Demon/Hell Books

April 22, 2007
by

First there were the Ravenscliff books by Geoffrey Huntington (which never concluded, much to my dismay) and Darren Shan’s Demonata books.

Last fall, we had Devilish, Hellbent, Hellphone, and Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony (yes, I’m counting it!).

But the whole thing came to a head yesterday when I saw that Repossessed is one of the newest recommendations at Reading Rants!, and it’s about a demon. Then I asked a patron if she wanted to request Succubus Blues, an adult book, before we started talking about other titles, and I kept on getting Prom Nights from Hell and Prom Dates from Hell confused. “Wait, which is the anthology with Meg Cabot and Kim Harrison?”

Now I find out about Demon Envy, and, well, I suppose if there has to be a paranormal trend, I much prefer books about demons and/or hell than vampires. I’m tempted to make a joke about how it’s because they haven’t been done to death yet, but I’m too lazy to come up with a halfway decent one right now. Must think on it…

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2007 12:33 am

    I don’t know if anyone guessed or not yet, need to check. But Erin Lynn is also Erin McCarthy. Awesome author with a great way with the funny.

    I think the book will be grand.

join the discussion

