Skip to content

Are those wedding rings on the cover?

April 23, 2007
by

cover of Fourth Comings by Megan McCaffertyOkay, so I admit that Charmed Thirds would top my list of disappointing reads from last year. I love Sloppy Firsts and Second Helpings, but Charmed Thirds just didn’t match my expectations. I didn’t even realize that the next Jessica Darling book, Fourth Comings, will be published this summer until I got Megan McCafferty’s latest newsletter.

But look at this cover. My first reactions when I saw the cover:

  1. Are those wedding rings?
  2. Charmed Thirds was a New York Times Bestseller?
  3. The wedding rings. Are they for Bridget and Percy or Jessica and Marcus? Oh, either way, I’ll probably give in and read the book.

Gayle, any thoughts?

One Comment leave one →
  1. hiyalibrarian permalink*
    April 25, 2007 12:53 pm

    Sloppy Firsts and Charmed Seconds were such great reads, I think my expectations were quite high when reading Charmed Thirds. I wouldn’t say I was disappointed, but I do know what you mean, some sort of magic seemed lacking from the novel. Maybe it’s because Marcus and Jessica are maturing. In a sick sad way, I want them to stay in high school forever and be static characters. I guess I should appreciate more that McCafferty’s characters are maturing with their audience.

    I am eagerly anticipating Fourth Comings, I have a feeling Jessica won’t be the one getting hitched, but if she does, I believe it will be the end of her story.

    I have to admit that I find Megan McCafferty’s writing style in a league of her own. Her hyper-attentive descriptions capture so many aspects of pop culture and what-it-is-like-to-be-a-young adult now, that as a writer she can do no wrong in my eyes. We shall she if my blind adoration continues though.

join the discussion

