Skip to content

Gretchen Yee in Fly on the Wall

May 11, 2007
by

I’ve enjoyed books written by E. Lockhart such as The Boyfriend List and Fly on the Wall.  Trisha and I really dug that Gretchen Kaufman Yee was cool with being half Chinese.  I especially like that Gretchen collects beancurd babies–that sounds like something someone I know would do. 

We probably haven’t done Fly on the Wall justice with this post so you’ll have to read the book.  I also enjoy reading E. Lockhart’s blog so you might want to peruse there too.

Gayle: Did her Asian-ness really matter though? I totally forgot she was Asian in the course of the book
Trisha: No, but that’s one of the things I liked.  It wasn’t a big deal.
Jolene: Sorry, I haven’t read the book, what’s it about?
Trisha: A girl who becomes a fly on the wall of the boys locker room at school for a week. There’s also an Asian-American guy in the book.  One of the minor characters.
Jolene: How does her Asian-Americaness show through in the book? Are there sterotypes?
Trisha: Nope.  She’s hapa, and I don’t remember race ever being a big deal in the book.
Gayle: Yeah, it wasn’t a big deal. She just so happened to be hapa.
Jolene: Maybe we should define Hapa=Hawaiian slang for half races. Like the Japanese slang for “Hafu.”
Gayle: Hapa pretty much means of mixed race, so you can be hapa-haole (half-white) or hapa in general just means mult-racial.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jolene permalink*
    May 11, 2007 4:45 pm

    I need to read one of her books! I just checked my shelves and both of her books, “The Boyfriend List” and “The Boy Book” are missing from shelf.(One with 5 checkouts the other with zero.) They must be really good books for teens to want to even steal it, let alone read it. Hey we should make a list of teen titles often stolen from our shelves!

  2. Jolene permalink*
    May 25, 2007 1:49 pm

    I finally read it, and loved it! I just love how she modernized the “Metamorphosis” by Kafka. Perhaps, Gretchen was comfortable with being Asian because she lived in N.Y. where it’s accepted to be multi-cultural and different. This was apparent in the artsy fartsy school where she attended,in which the word “ordinary” was a dirty word. Also another interesting switch was that the Asian/Jock Adrian was a bigot, who constantly ragged on homosexuals.

join the discussion

