Skip to content

30 Seconds to Mars in Hawaii

May 16, 2007
by

This past weekend I went to see 30 Seconds to Mars at Pipeline. When we first purchased the ticket I wasn’t anticipating it to be sold out.(I heard a little about the band via the fame of Jared Leto-who will always be Jordan Catelano from “My So Called Life” to me.)  They sold out so fast for the original Sunday night concert, that they had to do another show on Friday.  We arrived at 7pm (when the show was supposed to start) and were surprised to see a line wrapped around the whole building.  After waiting for another half an hour they started letting people in while the first band was playing. I didn’t catch the name of the opening acts, but I couldn’t believe there were two bands. Then after an hour of mediocore music, we waited through another half hour of “Greatest Hits from the Cure.”(You only see this kind of pompousness at arena style concerts. However, U2 did have Pearl Jam as an opening act so it was like 2 awesome concerts in one.) Then finally they entered the stage at about 9:30pm (Divas!).  Jared Leto came on to the stage with his “hot topic” style pants (zippers included), all in black and black eyeliner. They started off pretty okay, but then he started to spew profanity saying things like he “f**cken loves Hawaii” and that we were all “motherf**ckers”. (Repeatedly, also forgot to mention that it was an all ages show, so we did see a lot of teens with their parents.) I mean don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a little profanity every now and then, when it merits context like: NIN “I want to f**k you like an animal” or She wants Revenges “I want to f**cken tear you apart” but it’s in the songs not in abusing the audience, these performers are often polite to their audience. (She Wants Revenge was lovely) I mean how much more should an audience take after waiting 2 1/2 hours to see a mediocore band? He then proceeded to tell the audience to start a mosh pit, and then climbed a railing and jumped into the audience.  Deja Vu swept over me, was I still trapped in the 90’s? Bottom line I felt the whole experience was not about the music, but about the esthetics and certain person’s rock star ego.

One Comment leave one →
  1. hiyalibrarian permalink*
    May 16, 2007 9:21 am

    Haha! You’re an old fut like me that likes the likes fo U2 concerts. I have to say that the concerts at Pipeline usually aren’t up my alley either. Sometimes I think we think the teens don’t know as much as they do, profanity included. Hopefully the parents who were uncomfortable with their children hearing such things had sense to leave and get a refund. Of course I think any parent who would go to Pipeline voluntarily is way more permissive than me.

join the discussion

