Skip to content

I know, I know

May 23, 2007
by

that most books that get optioned for film or television don’t end up being made, but some of these titles made me pause.

From the Creative Artists Agency ad in the April 30, 2007 issue of Publishers Weekly (pages 6-7):

YA-Related:
As Simple As SnowGregory Galloway (Alex Award winner)
The Blind Side: Evolution of a GameMichael Lewis (Alex Award winner)
The Children of the LampP.B. Kerr
I Love You, Beth CooperLarry Doyle (you know, that guy)
LarklightPhilip Reeve
SeekerWilliam Nicholson
SoldPatricia McCormick (yeah, this is one that made me say, “Huh?” It’s a good book and *sob* made me cry, but I can’t imagine it as a movie)

Some of the more eyebrow-raising adult titles:
The Lost Painting – Jonathan Harr
Pompeii – Robert Harris
The Rape of Nanking
Iris Chang
Sacred GamesVikram Chandra (need to read this when I have time for a 916 page book. I assume they’re going to have to cut a lot from it)

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 23, 2007 7:24 pm

    As Simple As Snow is AMAZING.

    I try to have people who like Looking For Alaska then read As Simple As Snow, and vice-versa.

    Sold is a powerful novel, but unless they have voiceovers of her reading all of the passages, it just won’t feel the same.

join the discussion

