Skip to content

Gayle’s May Roundup

June 2, 2007
by

Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez 5 Stars for having a multi-cultural cast of characters.  4 Stars for the actual storyline.  I wish there were more to this girl meets guy, has a crush, guy has a girlfriend, guy breaks up with girlfriend, ex-girlfriend goes psycho, guy and girl live happily ever after.  I liked the aspects where Paski is embarrassed by her dad being ultra-ethnic, but didn’t really dig the inaccuracies in the portrayal of his Japanese American love interest. I could totally see Haters as a teen movie probably somewhere in between the feel to High School Musical and Mean Girls.  I could see Brenda Song from the Suite Life of Zack and Cody playing Jessica Nguyen, Paski would be that High School Musical actress Vanessa Ann Hudgens and Zac Efron as Chris Cabrera. We’ll be chatting and posting about Haters at a later date.  Stay tuned…

Wait for Me by An Na Mina is stuck in a web of lies and she doesn’t know what to do or where to go.  She feels obligated to stay home to care for her sister but can’t stand her mother.  Although Wait for Me evoked a feeling that made me want to eat Carnitas, I can’t say I related well to the protagonist.  To be honest, I disliked Mina because she never fully accepts responsibility for her actions or her life.  She’s reactionary and lukewarm at that. Overall storyline was okay although I didn’t see any resolution to the protagonist’s problems which left me somewhat dissatisfied. 

Paranoid Park by Blake Nelson (Read this one totally because of Trisha’s post, she never steers me wrong with a book suggestion.)  An unnamed 16 year old protagonist is involved in the death of a security guard and doesn’t know what to do.  Will his guilt lead him to confess to the police the events of that fateful night or will he stay in silence?  A cool read for those who want to get into the psyche of someone with something pressing on their mind.  I’ll be sure to add this one to my booktalks alongside Black and White by Paul Volponi.  One of the neat things about this book is because I was so enthralled with the story I didn’t realize the protagonist goes unnamed throughout the book.    

My DIY: My Stylin’ Girl’s Guide to DIY Projects by Kimberly Potts  Text heavy but easy to follow instructions.  It’d be the perfect book if there were illustrations.  The explanations are clear and the projects executable. 

Whatcha Mean What’s a Zine by Mark Todd Great fun to follow these instructions.  This book inspired me to have a Make a Mini-zine program at the library.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2007 10:03 pm

    I sadly found Wait for Me rather lacking as well.

join the discussion

