Skip to content

Summer Reading challenge to myself

June 4, 2007
by

I’ll be trying out a bingo game as part of my Summer Reading Program for the first time. By reading books that fall into various categories and getting a bingo, teens can win additional prizes. The game is hopefully easy enough for teens to win a couple more prizes without much effort, since one book can apply to multiple categories, but broad enough that if they want to win all five prizes, they’ll probably have to stretch themselves. Since I know that I should do some genre-stretching myself, I thought, “Hey, maybe I should try to do this, too.”

So, excluding the “Newspaper, Magazines, or Website” category and the three “Received Week ___ Prize” opportunites, because they’re pretty much gimmes, my goal is to cross off every one of these categories that may appear on the bingo cards between the start and end of the Summer Reading Program.

  1. Hardcover book The Falconer’s Knot by Mary Hoffman
  2. Paperback book Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess
  3. Manga or graphic novel The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg
  4. Not a manga or graphic novel Such a Pretty Girl
  5. Part of a series Yakitate!! Japan vol. 3 by Takashi Hashiguchi
  6. Not part of a series The Falconer’s Knot
  7. Non-Fiction
  8. Fantasy General Winston’s Daughter by Sharon Shinn
  9. Mystery The Falconer’s Knot
  10. Science fiction
  11. Classic
  12. Poetry
  13. Romantic Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale
  14. Humorous/Funny
  15. Horror/Scary/Ghost story
  16. Historical fiction The Falconer’s Knot
  17. Set outside the United States Yakitate!! Japan vol. 3
  18. About or set in Hawaii
  19. Story takes place during summer Rucker Park Setup by Paul Volponi
  20. 2007 Teens’ Top Ten nominee
  21. BBYA winner (any year)
  22. Turned into TV show or movie
  23. About music or a musician Beige by Cecil Castellucci
  24. About sports or an athlete Rucker Park Setup
  25. About an actor or actress

As with the teens, I’ll count one book toward multiple categories when applicable. However, while teens can pretty much list any book they want, I’ll limit myself to YA books that I haven’t read before. Summer Reading starts next week, so let’s see if I can do it.

Oops! Edited 7/26/07 to add: Summer Reading is over, and I didn’t cross off all the categories. Maybe next year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2007 10:00 pm

    Will you have lists or displays for some of those harder categories, like BBYA winner or set in Hawaii, so they don’t have to go searching hard?

    Sounds like a great idea. (She says, filing it away in that Rolodex mind. Flip. Flip.)

  2. June 5, 2007 11:01 pm

    We already have brochures for the BBYA winners (maybe I’ll finally get rid of all the old ones!) and Teens’ Top Ten nominees, plus a Hawaiiana section, so I was thinking about just doing a mystery display to fit with the YNK @ your library theme. But since I have a feeling a lot of teens will lose the brochures, maybe I’ll do one shelf for mysteries and one for BBYA and Teens’ Top Ten nominees.

  3. Gayle permalink*
    July 11, 2007 6:16 pm

    Read Enders Game and cross off 10 and 22.

    How about Dramarama or The Secrets of My Hollywood Life for 25?

Trackbacks

  1. Ch-ch-changes « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

