Skip to content

More thoughts on Guyaholic

June 9, 2007

This is why I always include a summary in my reviews/recommendations/I-really-need-to-figure-out-what-to-call-them.

Guyaholic was just reviewed at Reading Rants!, and while I wholeheartedly agree with the recommendation, that’s not how I would summarize the book. But sometimes it takes reading another person’s review to get your own thoughts in order.

Anyway, I was wondering why the Reading Rants! review made me pause. It’s not that the review is inaccurate, because it isn’t. But I realized that because V’s story is told in the first person from her perspective, I didn’t see her as that girl. You know, the bad girl, the troublemaker, the slut. Oh, V was definitely that girl in Vegan Virgin Valentine, but enough time had passed since I read it that V started off with a pretty fresh slate when I began reading Guyaholic. And because the story is told from her perspective, we are able to see her confusion and poor decision making in a more sympathetic light. She’s not intentionally callous or cruel, and it would have been easy (ahem) to see her in that way if the story was told from another perspective. She’s also so matter-of-fact about her past that her mistakes are just that. Mistakes, not catastrophes or things to be ashamed of. In Carolyn Mackler’s hands, V is so much more than that girl.

For the record, this is my amazingly short Guyaholic summary: V (from Vegan Virgin Valentine) has never had a serious relationship in her life. Not with boys, not with her mother, until a solo road trip to Texas changes her perspective on love and relationships.

Also reviewed by Jackie.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs. Andersen permalink
    August 1, 2010 8:17 am

    I love this review for Guyaholic. I’ve reading Vegan, Virgin, Valentine but for some reason I haven’t read Guyaholic yet. And even though I haven’t read it, I still understand what you’re saying about V. I recommended Vegan, Virgin, Valentine to one of my students and she adored it. In fact, she wanted to read Guyaholic straight away, but she couldn’t find it. I ended up going to the store to buy it for her🙂 I guess I should finally get to reading it!

    • August 2, 2010 4:28 pm

      Glad to know I can make sense to more people than just myself!

      I highly recommend Guyaholic, btw. I actually like it more than Vegan Virgin Valentine.

join the discussion

