Skip to content

Flat Marble Magnet Craft Time

June 17, 2007
by

The flat marble magnet craft has got to be the easiest and most rewarding craft time I’ve had yet. Here’s a picture of the craft.

Thanks Trisha for this great idea!

How to Make Flat Marble Magnets

Step 1: Gather your materials.  You’ll need clear flat marble magnets (can be found at any craft supply store), glue (any glue that dries clear: Elmer’s,  Aleene’s,  etc. if you’re not endangering anyone but yourself you can also try silicon glue used to repair aquariums), cool images (origami or scrapbooking paper looks nice but the real gems are found in old magazines–the images from the National Geographic were awesome), scissors and/or a craft punch, magnets (we used ceramic magnets that were slightly smaller than the diameter of the flat marbles), and last but not least creative crafters.

Step 2: Find your images. Flip through magazines and find images that you like.  Trace the image out using your flat marble.  Cut image out.

Step 3: Glue your images to your flat marble.  You’re going to want to glue the image to the flat side of the marble.  I thought this would be self explanatory but a grandma who happened to be at our little craft time accidentally glued her image on the curved side.  Whoops!  I found applying the glue to the marble easier than applying the glue to the image.

Step 4: Let the glue dry. Sounds simple enough, but I can’t stress enough how much patience is a virtue.

Step 5: Glue the magnet to the back of your new creation.  

Step 6: Let the glue dry.  Transporting your still wet project may cause some heartache for some tender souls who find that their magnets have shifted enroute home.  I actually employed a ploy to have the kids come back to collect their creations after they dried.

Step 7: Get your magnets back from that nutty YA Librarian who wants to keep them all.  Yes I have to admit I want to keep all of the teens’ creations!  They’re so much nicer than my own!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2007 10:28 pm

    You’re welcome!

    So your teens liked it, too? And, c’mon, where are the directions?🙂

    (I’m so ashamed of myself. This is my second emoticon of the day)

  2. Jolene permalink*
    June 18, 2007 8:14 am

    Ohh those would be great to give out at Kawaii-Kon. How much were the marbles?

  3. June 19, 2007 3:33 pm

    I did the same craft using Star Wars images if you want to get a little geekier…😉

    http://www.starwars.com/kids/activity/crafts/f20041210/index.html

  4. Gayle permalink*
    June 20, 2007 11:32 pm

    Cool. The possibilities are endless.

  5. July 31, 2007 12:15 am

    When I do this program, I usually tell the teens to cut out the image bigger than it needs to be, then trim when the glue is dry. I think it’s easier this way.

    Also, Tisha and I found that the glue dries faster if you flip the marbles over to rest with the paper side up.

  6. JennieLynn permalink
    May 20, 2009 3:22 am

    I love this idea but what to do it with larger marbles. I already checked my two local craft stores and neither have the larger flat marbles. I have been looking online with lil luck. Any suggestions?

  7. November 14, 2010 6:52 am

    You can find the larger Clear Flat Marbles/Gems on my website at http://www.rainbowturtle.com We have customers use them all the time for this use.
    Hope this helps,
    Rainbow

join the discussion

