Skip to content

Why I lurve AFI!

June 28, 2007
by

d.jpg 172397.jpg

When I became interested in punk rock as a teen, I would often hear mention of a band called AFI (A Fire Inside).  To be honest, at first glance and listen of their earlier material I wasn’t too impressed. (Except for Sing the Sorrow, which was produced by Garbage’s Butch Vig who also produced Nirvana’s Nevermind.) I was more interested in Siouxise and the Banshees, The New York Dolls, The Ramones, The Smiths, The Clash, and X. However, upon close inspection of their latest album Decemberunderground (2006) I became enamoured with this band.  The guitar rifts were tight, the drums thrashed, and lead singer Davey Havok’s voice was just so honest, melodic, and feral all at once.  Like Depeche Mode’s Violater album (they didn’t start off electro-goth either), Decemberunderground is the culmination of AFI’s years of touring and quest to become better musicians.  The album is a mesh of hardcore punk with gothic overtones.  Also surprisingly for a rock album there’s  no profanity in the lyrics, just a whole lot of depth of emotion! My personal favorite songs include:

1.) Leaving Song Part 2
2.) Girls Not Grey
3.) God Called in Sick Today (Off of the Black Sails in the Sunset Album)
5.) The Interview
5.) Missing Frame
6.) Love Like Winter
7.) Killing Lights
8.) 37 mm
9.) Endlessly, She Said

*Below is a You-Tube Clip/interview of Davey Havok (lead singer) and Jade Puget (guitarist). Towards the end of the interview Davey and Jade talk about fairytales (which I found to be a very eloquent discussion indeed!).  I just love that they can rock and read at the same time!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gayle permalink*
    June 28, 2007 10:21 pm

    “Get off the internet, read a book.” Haha! If you like macabre try H.P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allen Poe, that’ll give you street cred.

    Jolene, I want to borrow your ipod. Do you have a lastfm account?

  2. Jolene permalink*
    July 2, 2007 3:28 pm

    True that with the macabre, of course I always thought Dickens was the ultimate fatalist. Actually I don’t have an ipod, but I got a shuffle. In fact, I haven’t downloaded i-tunes yet due to no internet connection at home. (Yes as I’ve mentioned before I’m getting technology retarded.)

join the discussion

