Skip to content

Transformers

July 6, 2007
by

transformers.jpg 

I have to admit I felt some trepidation before viewing Transformers.   I’m a gen-xer and Transformers along with She-Ra, He-Man, and Jem were among my favorite cartoons.  I didn’t want my 80’s image of the Auto-Bots and Deceptacons to be tainted by an overly updated hollywood production.  Unfortunately my trepidation turned out somewhat correct and yes hollywood has overly updated Transformers where most of the original characters are unrecognizable. Here’s an example of the 80’s Megatron and millenium Megatron: (See Below)

 megatron.gifmegatron2.jpg

 (80’s)                   (Millenium)

* I know to the avid fans there’s a reason why Megatron does not have his original form, but they could’ve at least made his voice sound like the old Megatron.

One of the bright stars of the movie is the forever noble Optimus Prime and the comedic Shia LeBeouf.  Without those two characters there probably wouldn’t have been any storyline or comedic relief.  However, I must give props to the CGI team who provided about 80% of the movie’s action sequences and robotic depictions.  Definately an ideal movie for 8 year old boys or 8 year old boys at heart.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gayle permalink*
    July 11, 2007 6:12 pm

    I am afraid to see this movie. I’ve heard many a bad review.

join the discussion

