Skip to content

It’s barely August

August 4, 2007
by

and Amazon.com has unveiled their Best Books of the Year So Far lists. As usual, they combine children and teen books on one list. The YA titles are

  • Evil Genius by Catherine Jinks
  • Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
  • The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

I always get into semantic arguments with myself about “best” vs. “favorite.” This may make me sound rather crazy, arguing with my self, but it’s true. I have no problem picking my favorite books (or whatever) of the year, even if I’m the really picky type that says I have to like it, plus it has to have that extra something that lifts it above everything else I’ve read and liked, and if nothing meets this requirement, then I won’t have any favorites. But best? No can do. And there is a difference.

So, what are your picks for best and/or favorite YA books published so far this year?

My “so far” list is awfully short (as in one book!), since almost everything on my Favorites of 2007 list hasn’t been published yet except for The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. teenbookreview permalink
    August 4, 2007 4:06 pm

    I haven’t thought much about it yet for either best or favorite, but I often think I’m crazy for thinking there’s a difference! But there is, isn’t there?

  2. August 5, 2007 5:14 am

    Flora Segunda definitely, and Elizabeth Knox’s pt. 2 Dreamquake. Um, Cecil’s Beige, Holly Black’s Ironside, The Off Season, and Notes from the Teenage Underground. All of which I love, love, loved, so a pretty good year so far for me.

  3. August 5, 2007 7:36 am

    So far, Flora Segunda and Wicked Lovely are my two favorites (although Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones was also really fun). Still looking forward to the rest of the year!

  4. August 6, 2007 3:12 pm

    OOPS! I totally forgot about Resurrection Men by T. K. Welsh, probably because I’ve been saving my review of it as one of my Under the Radar Picks. So that’s two “so far.”

    Thanks for sharing, everyone!

join the discussion

