Skip to content

The Mortal Instruments/City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

September 4, 2007
by

Long ago when demons plagued the earth the nephilim (fallen angels) were chosen to defeat them.  These nephilim were later dubbed Shadowhunters appointed to protect the human race against demons and downworlders (i.e. fairies, werewolves, vampires and other mythical creatures.)  Shadowhunters are chosen from birth and come from a magical land/dimension called Iridis.  They defeat demons by using magical runes, which are burned into their skin leaving behind transluscent tattoos.  Clary Fray a 15-year old New Yorker’s world is turned upside down after she witnesses a group of Shadowhunters defeat a demon.  Soon after the incident, Clary’s mom disappears.  To find her mother, Clary must rely on an arrogant pretty-boy Shadowhunter named Jace.  In her quest, Clary enters into a treacherous magical world, unraveling a lifetime of shocking secrets.

The Mortal Instruments/City of Bones is part one of a trilogy. Clare does a great job with the dialog, but I found some of the narrative to be a little scattered at times.  In addition, I felt the book had a slow start, but did accelerate towards the ending.   Also readers who are unfamiliar with mythical characters might be scratching their heads when trying to define the plethora of magical terminology.  Overall, City of Bones will be an entertaining read for fans of Harry Potter and Star Wars. (Star Wars comparisions include: 1.Orphaned child reunites with evil warlord father. 2. Revolt against government, due to social purification. 3. Secret society of warriors who sustain strict moral codes.  4.Incestuous love story.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2007 5:01 pm

    I read this, and it was rather interesting, because I had a friend who knows fandom and she pointed out all the little things that wouldn’t have irritated me otherwise because whilst I’ve read HP and enjoyed them, I’m not a FAN.

  2. September 5, 2007 3:53 am

    As I recall, this was originally a HP fanfic that got picked up and, of course, revised heavily to be “original.” (I think Jace was originally Draco? and Clary was Hermione or Ginny? The original fanfic has been removed from the Internet, I believe. Or at least, is not so easy to find!)

    When I read it, oddly enough I was reminded more of Buffy fanfic than HP fanfic; with Clary being very much a Mary Sue and her best friend reminding me of Xander.

  3. September 5, 2007 9:48 am

    Liz, all I know is that the whole thing is really rather complicated. LOL.

  4. September 5, 2007 12:09 pm

    As I recall, this was originally a HP fanfic that got picked up…

    Really? Between that and Jolene’s summary, I’ll probably read this one.

  5. Jolene permalink*
    September 6, 2007 12:30 pm

    Yeah I didn’t know that the book was orignally HP fanfiction either. It just sort of reminded me of HP, what with the orphaned teen who finds out they have a magical past before birth thing. And I agree it does have some Buffy elements, especially Isabella’s character who is sexy and can kick ass!

  6. September 11, 2007 8:44 am

    Interesting. I’d been wanting to read some feedback on this book because on Amazon.com the reviews have been less than favorable and plus Holly Black gives her endorsement but I still hesitate. I’ll see if my library has a copy.

join the discussion

