Skip to content

Deogratias: A Tale of Rwanda by Stassen

September 9, 2007
by

Do you remember where you were in 1994 and 1995? I do. Moreover I remember a trial of a certain ex-NFL player that eclipsed all other news stories. I feel a guilt about my ignorance of world events that have come and gone. Books like Stassen’s Deogratias: A Tale of Rwanda explain events in this world that I wish I knew more about. The Rwanda Genocide in my opinion is difficult information to process. However Deogratias presents difficult information in a way that will no doubt leave you to your own thoughts after completion.

As soon as I picked up this graphic novel, I did not want to set it down. The story of the protagonist Deogratias and his path to insanity unfolds in 78 pages. Amazing is an understatement for what I think of this particular graphic novel. I am awestruck with how Stassen could convey his ideas so effectively. Of course when dealing with any type of event that is labeled genocide a reader should be prepared for the pages to come.

Is Deogratias a tale of love, a tale of hate, a tale of history? Yes. It is a tale about the human race and our interactions. How politically sanctioned hate can run a muck and cause extreme tragedy. How love sometimes fails. How history repeats itself.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jolene permalink*
    September 13, 2007 12:24 pm

    I just finished this graphic novel, and Strassen does a great job of streamlining a very complex issue. The background history on Rowanda’s political climate also helped me to understand the true extent of the genocide. Also a great film to watch, which also deals with Africa and it’s political and ecomnical climate is Tstosi. Link to site is below.

    http://www.tsotsimovie.com/

  2. Gayle permalink*
    September 13, 2007 6:36 pm

    Don’t forget Hotel Rwanda.

  3. May 19, 2008 8:57 am

    Ugh, I have to read this for summer reading:/

    DAMMIT I wish i liked reading just a little bit…

Trackbacks

  1. Rwanda » Blog Archives » Iraq Death Toll Rivals Rwanda Genocide, Cambodian Killing Fields
  2. Rwanda » Blog Archives » An Interview with Doctor Paul Farmer on Haiti and Rwanda

join the discussion

