Skip to content

Into the Wild by John Krakauer

September 17, 2007
by

I’m anticipating the release of the movie adaptation of Jon Krakauer’s book Into the Wild this Friday. The first time I heard about this particular book was when I was tag team booktalking with two other librarians at a middle school on Maui. One of the other librarians gave such a rousing booktalk on this book that as soon as I got back to my library I checked it out.

The basic story is Jon Krakauer’s piecing together of Christopher McCandless‘ last year of life preceding his death in 1992. What was this intelligent well educated young man from a privileged background doing dead in an abandoned bus in Denali National Park? How had he gotten there? Was there foul play involved or a hideous accident?

Why am I so excited about this movie? Perhaps because Sean Penn is directing it. Maybe because Eddie Vedder is on the soundtrack. Or maybe the Into the Wild movie website resonates well with me. Maybe it’s because I have a little bit of the need for adventure like Christopher McCandless in me. Whatever the reason, I can’t wait to see this flick.

One last thing, don’t confuse this book with the other book Into the Wild of the Warrior series by Erin Hunter about warrior cat clans.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jolene permalink*
    September 24, 2007 10:45 am

    Into the Wild was featured on Oprah last week. Get ready for the avalanche request list! It was a very interesting interview, there’s probably clips of it somewhere on Youtube.

    P.S. The Warrior series is now being published in Manga format.

  2. bhesraj permalink
    August 23, 2008 9:47 pm

    actually movie was great and so is the book.

join the discussion

