Skip to content

Battle of the Josh Schwartz shows: Chuck vs. Gossip Girl

September 19, 2007
by

Josh Schwartz, creator of “The O.C” has two new shows on TV this fall, “Chuck” and “Gossip Girl.” I don’t watch anywhere near enough television to do an adequate job reviewing them, but here’s my $0.02.

Chuck: Chuck receives an e-mail that leaves him privy to government secrets and the target of the NSA and CIA, who both want their information back. Unfortunately for these agencies, all their intel is no longer on a computer, but in the head of a nerd: Chuck, who works at Buy More as the supervisor of a Nerd Herd (think Best Buy’s Geek Squad).

Okay, so it’s totally implausible and some of the effects could have been better, but it was still fun. Not as immediately “OMG! What happens next?”-intriguing as previous shows I’ve gotten hooked on, but good enough and fun enough that I will watch tape the next couple episodes. Why is it that all the new shows I want to watch are on when I’m at work and can’t watch them?

Watch the pilot episode of “Chuck” on Yahoo! (Updated: download expired😦 )

Gossip Girl: You know the story. Based on the books by Cecily von Ziegesar about rich kids in New York and the anonymous, all-knowing Gossip Girl who makes public their every move.

It was okay. I wouldn’t say it was bad, it was just kind of boring (but maybe that’s because I vaguely knew what was going to happen because I read the book). Though I suppose boring=bad, because it could have been bad in a good, campy way, but just struck me as dull and not as titillating as I thought a teen show with sex, drugs, and booze would be. Except for that first Blair/Nate scene, it seemed more like cool kids showing off how cool they are. Regardless, I won’t be watching “Gossip Girl” on TV, since I don’t care what happens plot-wise or character-wise, as most of the characters were bland and dull, with the exceptions of Jenny and that icky, creepy Chuck. Ewww. Jackie, feel free to keep on hating it, because it’s so not as good as VMars.

And, huh, I never expected to hear a Cold War Kids song on television.

Download the pilot episode of “Gossip Girl” from iTunes.
My So-Called Gossipy Life (New York Times article about an informal panel of 7th graders thoughts on the show).

The Winner: “Chuck,” hands down.

I think I’ve already mentioned that I’m a sucker for YA spy books, used to be a big “Alias” fan (well, seasons 1 and 2, anyway, even though I kept watching even after it got all sucky), and only read one Gossip Girl novel, so it’s not a big surprise that I prefer “Chuck”. But even discounting the spy/action preference, I’d still go with “Chuck”. It’s got a sense of humor, doesn’t take itself so seriously, and is occasionally over the top in a good way. “Gossip Girl,” on the other hand, occasionally over the top in a bad way and just not fun. And Zachary Levi as Chuck (the one from “Chuck”, not GG) is cuter and more crushworthy than any of the guys in “Gossip Girl.” Yes, I am that shallow.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jolene permalink*
    September 24, 2007 10:51 am

    I’d have to agree I’d rather watch “Chuck,” than “Gossip Girl.” Did you watch “Best Week Ever” on VH1 they were making fun of “Gossip Girl,” and how one of the main characters objective was to Date Rape teen girls, and what exactly were they gossiping about? There’s probably a clip somewhere on VH1.

  2. September 24, 2007 3:51 pm

    Thanks Jolene!

    Most other people seem to really like “Gossip Girl,”
    so what do I know? But I wonder if part of it is that I saw “Chuck” first, then “Gossip Girl,” so the comparison factor came into play. And “Chuck”? So much more entertaining than “Gossip Girl.”

  3. Gayle permalink*
    September 25, 2007 3:52 pm

    Man I missed both of these!

  4. October 1, 2007 12:47 pm

    1. I think it’s funny that there are characters named “Chuck” in both shows. That’s not really a common name.

    2. I agree about the dullness. I mean, the characters need to and could be much more multi-dimensional. I wish I could compare them to the books more, but I haven’t read them.

  5. October 5, 2007 12:07 pm

    Ok,now, just to be clear, I don’t hate specifically the Gossip Girls, just the fact that TV people are slowly taking away smart, clever women and replacing them with shallow things like Gossip Girls and even worse, The Pussycat Dolls.

Trackbacks

  1. Gossip Girl article roundup part 2 | Gossip Girl Chat
  2. Battle of the Josh Schwartz shows: Chuck vs. Gossip Girl | Delta Epsilon Blog

join the discussion

