Skip to content

Teen Read Week, October 14-20

September 19, 2007
by

Teen Read Week is in one month. Are you ready?

I’m still planning my events, but I think it’ll consist of:

  • 2 games (name the author/title of the YA book based on the cover—which I’m stealing from someone either on YALSA-BK or YA-YAAC—plus a “Guess the Theme” display, in which I’ll display some books and teens who guess the theme correctly can win/enter to win an ARC or gift card, and which I’m hoping to turn into a monthly thing)
  • the launch of our teen book group (crossing my fingers)
  • one food program (make your own trail mix? something else? still trying to come up with something), and
  • three crafts (two scrapbook-type crafts that I just have to make samples for, and the last a make-and-take, but I’m still trying to decide what to do. We did marble magnets as a make-and-take last year for TRW and origami during spring break, so maybe duct tape crafts?).

If we still had a movie license, I’d show a funny movie, but since I decided to let the license expire, that’s one more program I need to come up with.

Yes, yes, I know the theme is LOL @ Your Library, but sometimes I think themes make it too hard. We try to be clever and fit our programming to the theme (or try to think of a clever name for the program/theme) when the point, in my opinion, is really to have programs specifically for teens and to promote teen reading.

Anyway, Liz has a great post on the importance of TRW, and for more programming ideas, check out:
YALSA’s 2007 Teen Read Week page
TRW wiki
Alternative Teen Services
Zee Says

Plus, during the entire month of October, Readergirlz will feature an author chat every day as part of the 31 Flavorites Authors for Teens (via Little Willow). The list of authors is impressive, including Meg Cabot, Stephenie Meyer, Ann Brashares, Ellen Hopkins, Sonya Sones (Sonya Sones! I can’t believe no one thought of her for the SBBT or WBBT. Ah, well, maybe next year), and more.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2007 3:11 pm

    Thanks for getting the word out about 31 Flavorite Authors for Teens. Our chats are at 5 Pacific, 8 Eastern. Except Stephenie who will be at midnight Eastern, on Halloween, of course!

    Just friend our readergirlz MySpace group forum at http://groups.myspace.com/readergirlz

    Hope to see you there so we can celebrate Teen Read Week together!

    Lorie Ann, readergirlz diva/author
    Hold Me Tight

  2. September 25, 2007 11:56 am

    Hey Trisha! Thanks for shout out to Zee Says. Don’t forget about the Teens Top 10 promotion, too, through YALSA. Teens all across the country will choose which books are the best from the 25 nominated titles. I have a blog entry about it if anyone wants to read more. Voting opens October 14th!

  3. September 26, 2007 7:29 pm

    Lindsey – Thanks for the TTT reminder. I totally forgot about it.

join the discussion

