Skip to content

Hip Librarians

September 23, 2007
by

Here’s a link to a very interesting New York Times article published in July, on gen-x librarians. I can totally identify! Are you a hip librarian?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gayle permalink*
    September 25, 2007 3:51 pm

    I’m more of an elbow librarian.

  2. Keri permalink
    September 26, 2007 5:34 am

    Great article! I know so many librarians who are around may age (28) who are politically active, hip, and smart. We aren’t “shushers”, we go to bars and get drunk, go to concerts, literary and cultural events. So many people I meet still think that a librarian has to be old and stodgy and when I tell them I am a librarian they look at me with shock and awe, like it is not possible because I am not at the age of retirement. Hopefully this article will enlighten members of my generation, and those looks will cease to exist and instead will be replaced with people telling me that being a librarian is pretty cool.

  3. Jolene permalink*
    September 28, 2007 12:36 pm

    Yeah I really enjoyed this article, and thought it aptly described the new generation of librarians. However, I still get the occasional “do you work here?” comments. Also one time a customer joked that I had a Young Adult Librarian name tag, because I looked like a Young Adult. (Which I’m not complaining about since I’m like 30.)

  4. October 26, 2007 12:57 am

    I’m 42 and embracing my Inner Little Old Lady. I haven’t stuffed tissues up my sleeves yet, but I have the cardigans. I can’t wait until I shrink below five feet, have blue hair, and can call everyone “dearie”.

    The lesson to learn here is that if you are helpful and know your books, it doesn’t matter what you look like. I had some wonderful librarians growing up with the Enna Jetticks shoes, tiny gold rimmed spectacles and the shelf-like bosoms, and think that the world will be a sad, sad place when authority figures all wear blue jeans.

join the discussion

