Skip to content

HIFF

October 22, 2007
by

The Hawaii International Film Festival (HIFF) is going on this week.  I’m only planning on catching a couple of films this year.  At $10+ a ticket, film screenings have become somewhat of a luxury item for me.  Jolene had mentioned a couple of films earlier that were showcased at previous film fests.  Taste of Tea even won the Golden Maile award which is top honors here.  In case anyone is interested there are multiple copies of the Taste of Tea dvd in the library system–that’s how I came to view it.  Anyway back to HIFF.  HIFF is gaining in popularity and recognition for having quite a few notable premiers.  I think Snow Falling on Cedars and Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon were pre-screened at the film fest although Toronto no doubt beat Hawaii to the punch.  Granted HIFF is nowhere in the realm of Toronto, Cannes, or Sundance, it’s still nice to have the option of seeing non-blockbuster films in a theater bigger than the Doris Duke Theatre at the Academy of Art.

I have to have to plug one of the films I saw last year and totally adored: The Grace Lee Project.  It’s basically a film about the self discovery and exploration of an individual named Grace Lee who after growing up in Missouri thought she was unique being one of the few Asians in town only to realize as an adult that Grace Lee is a fairly common name in the Asian community.  She goes on to interview other Grace Lees and to talk about their similarities and uniqueness.  It was one of those cool bits you either catch it by chance on PBS or see it at a film festival type films.

I didn’t really get into HIFF until a college student, but I know some friends who started going when they were in a certain rival high school that had a film class.  *Ehem Trisha, geez, I can’t believe you guys had glass blowing and a film class!  I’m so jealous!* So here’s my little plug to the teens out there who no doubt worship my opinions on this blog: Go broaden your horizons and see a film festival flick.  It’s a good way to get in good with your teachers and you might even get extra credit for reviewing one of them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jolene permalink*
    October 26, 2007 10:03 am

    Wow Trisha had film class in high school?! I totally wish we had that, but of course I went to school in the westside so no chance of that. It was either band or chorus for me so I chose the latter. I think I might skip this years festival, however the “Kit Runner,” and “Heavenly Creatures” looks very tempting.

  2. October 26, 2007 1:21 pm

    Yeah, there was a film class. Not that I took it. Or glassblowing, which I really regret now. Because there was a prerequisite art class (for glassblowing, I mean), and I have no artistic ability, so I didn’t want to take the prereq, plus I was sure it would’ve dragged down my GPA… But if I had to relive my high school years, that’s one of the things I’d do differently.

join the discussion

