Skip to content

Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

November 18, 2007

Life As We Knew It is one of those books that you should recommend to whiny people. I’d probably say, “You think your life is tough? Well read about what goes down at the end of the world!” Actually I probably wouldn’t say anything remotely like that, but in my mind I would…

I had a similar reaction to this book as that of Leila at the bookshelves of doom. I actually found myself checking my pantry for canned and non-perishable food. Then having strange everyone’s dead and you’re all alone nightmares. *I really have to watch what I read right before I go to sleep.* I’m a slow reader so this process of nightmares and worries lasted me a week. Thing is, I couldn’t put this book down. I had to make an effort to put it down, I so wanted to read more about gloom and doom.

So here’s the basic storyline, the moon gets hit by a exceptionally dense asteroid and is shoved toward the earth, resulting in it’s gravitational pull messing with our environment. There are massive tides, volcanoes spring up where they once were dormant or non-existent, the atmosphere is covered in a dense covering of ash from the volcanoes, and it stops raining. The temperature plummets when the season begins to change and life just plain sucks because no one has food, electricity, gas, or running water. Life As We Knew It is a survival story featuring the plight of Miranda, her mother, younger brother Jonny, and older brother Matt. Will they survive without supermarkets, electricity, or heat? Is there anyone out there to save them, or will they have to fend for themselves? To see what Miranda and her family resort to doing to survive read Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer.

Hate to say it but this book reminded me of How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff. That’s not necessarily a bad thing since they have somewhat of a similar dystopic feel to them and besides How I Live Now won the Printz Award. But I’m having a heck of a time with the titles. Sadly enough I’m already mixing them up and I can’t even claim senility or senior moments. Anyway if anyone asks for readalikes, don’t forget either.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2007 1:19 pm

    My whole department loved Life As We Knew It and we’re waiting with bated breath for the sequel (June 2008 according to Amazon). I must confess that at a certain point, I dug out a bag of chocolate chips hidden away in my pantry and ripped it open…🙂

  2. November 18, 2007 3:57 pm

    looks like it’s pretty good! I’ll have to check it out. By the way–your blog is awesome and I am definitely adding it to my blogroll!

  3. Katie permalink
    November 18, 2007 4:23 pm

    We had to read this book for a reading competition through our school and I absolutely loved it.
    I would even have to put it down at times because I was getting so sad over it.

  4. Gayle permalink*
    November 21, 2007 6:34 pm

    Thanks for the positive feedback and for the news on the sequel.

  5. Leah permalink
    February 17, 2008 3:13 pm

    What is the name of the sequel anybody?

  6. Gayle permalink*
    February 18, 2008 4:35 pm

    The Dead and Gone is the sequel.

  7. frannie permalink
    October 27, 2008 2:07 pm

    i can’t wait to finish “Breaking Dawn” by Stephanie Meyers so i start to read ” The Dead and the Gone” i hope it is as good as “Life as We Knew it”

Trackbacks

  1. links for 2008-02-10 « Book (Cubed)
  2. Life As We Knew It, Susan Beth Pfeffer « Jenny’s Books
  3. Review – Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer «

join the discussion

