Skip to content

Beastly by Alex Flinn

November 21, 2007

Kyle Kingsbury lives in New York City and has got it all; looks, money, popularity, and also a very pompous attitude towards life.  However,  Kyle’s perfect world slowly crumbles after Kendra, the weird goth girl, puts a curse on him after he plays a nasty trick on her.  In a matter of days Kyle is transformed into a Beast not quite like any animal, but a monster with fur, fangs, and claws.   After his transformation Kendra appears in a mysterious mirror left in Kyle’s room.  Kendra tells Kyle that she’s really a witch and that in order to break the curse he has two years to find true love.  If he fails he will be a Beast forever.  At first Kyle doesn’t believe Kendra, and with his father’s help he searches the world for a cure, with no results.  Ashamed of Kyle’s appearance his father locks him away in a brownstone in Brooklyn with a maid and a blind tutor.  Ironically, the longer Kyle stays a Beast the more human he becomes. He learns to be more empathetic towards others, and even finds beauty in a mousy girl whom he wouldn’t have looked twice at before.   However, will that be enough to help him find true love?

Flinn has a knack for writing an urban fairytale with so much wit, humor, and romance that you’ll keep on reading, even though you know what’s going to happen in the end.  I was also delighted to find a brief history of the “Beast” fairytale in the back, which will be helpful for readers who are not fairytale aficionados.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2008 11:25 am

    this is my fave book it has relly inspired me and aloso i allways read it when im going through things in life

  2. May 29, 2008 9:40 am

    This book is by far my favorite.
    I really like how she writes, it’s easy to relate which just makes me want to keep reading more! WHOO!

  3. CER permalink
    June 27, 2008 4:07 pm

    BEST BOOK EVER. I picked it up thinking, whatever, it looks kind of cool. Oh my gosh. It was beautifully written and I was totally dragged into it. I re read it right away after I finished my first time. I love it. Thanks Alex Flinn!!!

  4. Zoe permalink
    June 30, 2008 8:48 am

    I LOVED this book. Not as good as Twilight, but still way different from some of the other stories out there (some of wich are grotesquely cheesy, and others are basicly the same book over and over again but with different names for people and places.). Like a modern fairytale. Kind of reminds me of Maximum Ride in the sense that it is almost realistic, but still fantasy/sci fi. Over all an ok book.
    Great Reveiw!
    Zoe

  5. kim permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:21 pm

    this book is realy awsome!
    I’m glad to reed something out of vampire series.
    wolfs I love it!

  6. Sheyla permalink
    January 10, 2009 3:30 am

    I’ve just finished the book and I loved it! It has a great message and the story is just the cutest. And if you love fairytale, you can’t miss it.
    Bye!

  7. Mushy permalink
    May 20, 2009 7:33 pm

    i loved this book even though i knew wat was going 2 happen. It was cute and it get the message through quickly and uses all ur emotions at the same time.

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Reading List « The Random Echo
  2. Review: Beastly by Alex Flyn | Flight into Fantasy

join the discussion

