Skip to content

Apparently I’m a Fan of New Wave Music

December 6, 2007
by

Okay call me stupid, but I’ve just come to the realization that I like New Wave music.  *Trisha and Jolene are probably rolling their eyes and shaking their heads as they read this.*  I was surfing around the iTunes store this weekend and found a bunch of cool 80’s songs that I had forgotten about. 

Flock of Seagulls, check

Thompson Twins, check

The Police, check

Blondie, check

XTC, check

Now what about Depeche Mode, The Cure, The Pet Shop Boys, Duran Duran, and Red Flag?  Are those considered new wave?  I’m thinking they are more electronica, but who knows what I like anymore?  Jolene can probably help me sorting this one out.   

Anyway our library system has some pretty cool “old” music.  Check out our catalog for some of your favorite groups.  Haha!  We have OMD!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jolene permalink*
    December 7, 2007 10:13 am

    Gayle no I’m not rolling my eyes! I love New Wave music too! Hello?! Totally went to the Flock of Seagulls, When In Rome, Dramarama, and Gene Love Jezebel concert. Actually I would classify a lot of electronica bands from the 80s as New Wave. Hence my love for electro-clash. Depeche Mode, The Cure, and Red Flag would be considered more Darkwave, due to the darker lyrical content. It’s really interesting that a lot of the current ’emo’ bands often mention Depeche Mode, The Cure, and Duran Duran as musical influences. I think it has something to do with the eyeliner, new wave haircuts, and leather or pleather (depending on if you’ve joined PETA or not).
    Hey are you going to The Police concert in february?

join the discussion

