Skip to content

U is for…upcoming books!

January 15, 2008
by

Colleen Mondor asked bloggers about the books we’re looking forward to, so I thought it would be fun to create a list of the 2008 books I most want to read, categorized from A to Z. Unfortunately, I got stuck on letters like Q and X. Oh, and K and L and Y and a lot more. So here’s my not quite A-to-Z list.

Asian-American Protagonists
Besides Good Enough and She’s So Money, I am also looking forward to Girl Overboard by Justina Chen Headley. And I’ll be reading my first Kimani Tru book, How to Salsa in a Sari by Dona Sarkar, about a part Indian, part African-American girl. Not sure about The Fold, though, because the subject matter is not exactly of interest to me. But I’ll probably give it a try (because the cover rocks! Look at it, it totally does) and see if it’ll be the first An Na book I actually finish.

cover of The Fold by An Na

Boarding School
Yes, I am a sucker for books set at boarding schools. Except for Kate Brian’s Private series. (I couldn’t even get through the first book, the girls were so mean.) Hence, E. Lockhart‘s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks.

Covers
Besides the aforementioned The Fold, here are some of my favorite covers.

cover of Girlwood by Claire Dean cover of Madapple by Christina Meldrum cover of Ivy by Julie Hearn
And is it just me, or does the Ivy cover model look like a redheaded version of the girl on Hearn’s The Minister’s Daughter?

Debut Authors
I’m looking forward to these books by debut authors.

Hey There Delilah I mean, Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway. Bonus: Meg Cabot likes it.

A la Carte by Tanita S. Davis (a.k.a. TadMack!)

Not Anything by Carmen Rodrigues

The Mystery of the Third Lucretia by Susan Runholt

For more books by debut authors, check out the Class of 2k8.

Feiwel & Friends
Between Carpe Diem, Get Well Soon, Long May She Reign, and The Poison Apples, I am automatically reading every YA book they publish, like The Compound by S.A. Bodeen and Zombie Blondes by Brian James. Or republish, in the case of Ellen Emerson White (The President’s Daughter, White House Autumn, and Long Live the Queen).

Here’s the Feiwel and Friends website, or visit the Macmillan site to view their catalog.

Geniuses, Boy
Apparently I’m on the immature side, because I happen to find flatulent dwarves absolutely hilarious. Especially when read by Nathaniel Parker. I’ve already done D and F, so I couldn’t put this with one of those letters, but since I also find ex-criminal mastermind boy geniuses intriguing, I think this works just as well as a category. Anyway, THE 2008 book I’m most looking forward to is Artemis Fowl #6, The Time Paradox.

Historical Fiction
Primavera by Mary Jane Beaufrand (Italian Renaissance)

Ten Cents a Dance by Christine Fletcher (1940s Chicago)

Sovay — ooh, Celia Rees! And, c’mon, with a description like this, how can I resist?

It’s England, 1783. When the rich and beautiful Sovay isn’t sitting for portraits, she’s donning a man’s cloak and robbing travelers—in broad daylight. But in a time when political allegiances between France and England are strained, a rogue bandit is not the only thing travelers fear. Spies abound, and rumors of sedition can quickly lead to disappearances. So when Sovay lifts the wallet of one of England’s most powerful and dangerous men, it’s not just her own identity she must hide, but that of her father.

New Year’s Reading Resolutions
These are more general resolutions, not solely YA-focused, but I’ve got two reading resolutions for 2008.

1. With this in mind, read at least one non-fiction book a month. At least four books must be YA non-fiction. Alas, I can’t think of any upcoming YA non-fiction I want to read, but I’ve got 3 YA non-fiction and 2 adult non-fiction books checked out right now, which I hope means I’ll be on track with this goal.

2. Read at least one book in translation a month. A book originally written in a foreign language and translated into English, I mean. And since I know I could do this entirely with books from the mystery aisle (and probably one year’s worth in one month, too), I’ll say that at least four books must be non-mysteries, and a couple, whether mysteries or not, must be written for children or teens. Like Guardian of the Spirit by Nahoko Uehashi. And manga doesn’t count. First up: The Redbreast by Jo Nesbø, which is not a YA book but is over 500 pages long and due back at the library in a little over a week.

Princesses
I would never want to be a princess, but for some reason I like to read about them.

Forever Princess (Princess Diaries #10) by Meg Cabot, especially since this is the last in the series

Princess Ben by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Aurelia by Anne Osterlund

Retellings, Fairy Tale
A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce (Rumplestiltskin; see Miss Erin’s review)

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George (East of the Sun and West of the Moon; for another retelling, try East by Edith Pattou)

The Swan Kingdom by Zoë Marriott (doesn’t sound exactly like a retelling, but inspired by The Wild Swans)

Scarletts
In any given year, you can find multiple characters with the same name. Still, I thought it interesting that there will be at least two books about girls named Scarlett. And, yes, I want to read both Kiss Me Kill Me by Lauren Henderson and Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson.

Plus, it looks like there’s a Scarlet in ghostgirl by Tonya Hurley, which makes this list mostly because of two words: gummy bear.

Sequels (okay, I’m cheating with two S’s)
I might not have loooooved The Luxe, but I’m still dying to find out what happens next, so I’ve got to read Rumors by Anna Godbersen.

Also Hell Week by Rosemary Clement-Moore, Kitty Kitty by Michele Jaffe, and Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg.

I had Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce on this list, until I checked Amazon again, and saw that it was postponed (again) to May 2009. Is this book ever going to come out? Although I would much prefer a delayed but excellent book to an on time but blah book, so I’ll stop complaining.

And in the it’s-a-companion-novel-not-a-sequel-but-I’m-sticking-it-here-anyway category: the dead & the gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Titles
Titles totally matter, and I love these titles.

Band Geek Love by Josie Bloss

Debbie Harry Sings in French by Meagan Brothers

The Explosionist by Jenny Davidson. And the story sounds good, too:

[I]t is the story of a 15-year-old girl growing up in an alternate version of 1930s Edinburgh, one where the legacy of Napoleon’s victory a century earlier at Waterloo is a standoff between a totalitarian Federation of European States and a group of independent northern countries called the New Hanseatic League. This world is preoccupied with technology (everything from electric cookers to high explosives) but also with spiritualism, a movement our world largely abandoned in the early twentieth century; Sigmund Freud is a radio talk-show crank, cars run on hydrogen and the most prominent scientists experiment with new ways of contacting the dead.

Confessions of a Triple Shot Betty by Jody Gehrman

Fat Hoochie Prom Queen by Nico Medina

La Petite Four by Regina Scott

Crimes of the Sarahs by Kristen Tracy (Ooh, website. Yay!)

Vampire-less Paranormal Fiction
A.k.a., the “I need a category that doesn’t start with a letter I’ve already used” category. The vampire books don’t seem to be slowing down, so I’m trying to do my part to encourage people to read more non-vampire books.

Wake by Lisa McMann, about a girl who can see into other people’s dreams. Which sounds like exactly the kind of paranormal fiction I want to read more of.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2008 3:02 am

    I am SO LOOKING FORWARD to so many of the books on your list!! Esp. the An Na book, Suite Scarlett, The Poison Apples, Princess Ben… it goes on and on and on.

    THANK YOU for looking forward to reading my book. I’m really touched!🙂

  2. January 15, 2008 4:03 am

    I didn’t know that TadMack’s book officially came out this year. Wahoo!!

    And Princess Ben sounds so great.

    What a kickin’ list.

    Jules, 7-Imp

  3. January 15, 2008 5:42 am

    I totally agree about Feiwel–I’m not in the habit of remembering publishers, but as I was reading their books for the Cybils I was so interested that I stopped and looked them up, and made a mental note to watch for more from them.

    I like boarding school books too! Particularly the English mid-20th century type…

  4. January 15, 2008 5:47 am

    Ok, haven’t heard of WAKE and now I want it. Thanks for the HUGE list (and I thought I had a ton on mine! lol)

  5. January 15, 2008 6:07 am

    We share a lot of to-read hopefuls.

    Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson is great, as is Girl Overboard. I hope you get a kick out of Good enough.

    Thanks for mentioning Kristen’s website! I’m looking forward to her Crimes.🙂

    I love boarding school books too. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks is tres magnifique.

    Big yay for Tanita. So excited for her.

  6. January 15, 2008 6:55 am

    I am personally very much excited about many of the titles on this list – however this list seems to have the same problem my teen collection does – a major lack of boy-friendly content. 😦 As I added some of these books to my “maybe order” list I simultaniously thought, “I’ll have to balance this out with something for a dude.”

  7. January 15, 2008 6:57 am

    Hey — I edited MORIBITO and CURSE DARK AS GOLD, and if you need galleys of either one, I’d be glad to send them to you! (I’m especially glad to see you mention MORIBITO . . . I describe it as “Linda Hamilton from ‘Terminator’ plays Bruce Lee in a world like Ursula K. LeGuin’s,” so it’s much more fun than just a good-for-you translation.🙂 )

  8. January 15, 2008 11:33 am

    Thanks for mentioning CURSE, and I see a few books that are going on my must-read list, too!

    ~ecb

  9. January 15, 2008 1:23 pm

    The girl on the Ivy cover looks a bit like Claire on Six Feet Under. Actually, maybe it’s just the hair.

    Anyway, FANTASTIC list.

  10. January 15, 2008 7:44 pm

    Thanks, everyone!

    Kate – I realized as I was putting this post together that it was mostly girl books. I thought about adding some titles with more guy appeal, but then I thought, “Well, I can’t really say I’m excited about those other books, not like I’m looking forward to these.” Those are more buy-for-the-library-and-squeeze-some-in-between-reading-everything-on-this-list type books. Maybe I should have added another entry anyway. T for Testosterone or something.

  11. January 16, 2008 1:13 pm

    Trisha — What a great post. Thanks for spreading the word about YA literature!! I’m particularly excited that my debut novel made your 2-B-Read list. Let me know what you think.🙂

    Carmen Rodrigues

  12. January 17, 2008 8:56 am

    What a great list–and gorgeous covers–luscious artwork!

    Thanks for the 2k8 mention–and for featuring Elizabeth Bunce’s A Curse Dark as Gold–I can’t wait to read it.

    Michele
    M.P. Barker
    A DIFFICULT BOY
    Holiday House, April, 2008
    http://www.classof2k8.com

  13. January 18, 2008 4:16 pm

    Sigh — I just had to second that the cover for Girlwood is gorgeous and had me running to amazon to see what it was about. I hope my cover is that good!

    I saw you guys on Jacketflap and I’m definitely adding you guys to my blog reader.

  14. January 19, 2008 11:41 pm

    Thank you for reminding me that Artemis Fowl is coming out agian this year ^_______^

    Currently compiling my own list… slooooowly.

Trackbacks

  1. More 2008 books I want to read « The YA YA YAs
  2. Looking ahead to 2009 « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

