Skip to content

In the Mood for Anime…

February 11, 2008
by

Been gearing up for the 2008 Kawaii-Kon. Watched the live action movie version of Death Note.  Chairman Kaga from Iron Chef is the actor who plays Light Yagami’s father.  I kept saying out loud after each one of his monologues, “Iron Cuisine!”  I couldn’t help myself.  This is why you don’t want to sit next to me in the theater. My only redemption was that I was watching this at home and thus only one other heard my outbursts.

Couple of reactions to the movie:

  • Read the manga, it tells the same story in about a 1/2 hour read as opposed to sitting through a two hour movie;
  • The actors they cast looked amazingly similar to the manga characters, how’d they do that?

What else?  I borrowed the dvd from the library.  The packaging is interesting there’s Korean on the cover art and it looks like it’s distributed from Taiwan yet for the dubbing options, there’s Japanese, English and Cantonese.

The next anime I’m hoping to watch is Tekkonkinkreet, it’s been getting all sorts of buzz from all over the place.

One final note Kawaii Kon 2008 is April 18-20th at the Hawaii Convention Center.  Jolene and I will be there with a couple of other Young Adult Librarians to promote library services to convention attendees.  One of us will blog with pictures about the event so you all can enjoy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2008 3:41 am

    Shriiiiek!
    “Allez cuisines!” I have way too much love for Chairman Kaga!

    I have to laugh at the guy on the poster — the apple is making a comeback. Skin Hunger has the same thing, only the guy has his back turned. I’m always interested to see what new art trends will come out of things like this.

    Sadly, this movie isn’t yet available in the UK.😦

  2. mona permalink
    February 12, 2008 3:02 pm

    so wait… they stretched out one volume of the manga into a two-hour movie? i guess i’ll have to check it out myself… curious how they cast L. i’ll be sure to stop by your table at the con!

  3. Jolene permalink*
    February 12, 2008 3:25 pm

    I wanna see Tekkonkinkeet too! I saw a preview when I watched Paprika, which was also totally awesome. However, I don’t understand why they rated it R. Probably because we some boob. I will requst Death Note looks really intereting.

    Tadmack: Yeah I think the apple is making a comeback! There’s an underlying apple theme in the live action version of Boys Over Flowers.

  4. Jolene permalink*
    March 24, 2008 3:05 pm

    Okay I finally watched the movie and agree the manga and anime is much better. It would’ve been way more interesting if they followed the format of the anime. We really don’t get to see enough of Ryuk, who is my favorite character. Also cosumme chips are the bomb! (Along with roasted chicken and curry. *sigh* too bad American palates are so limited to BBQ, Ranch, and Cheese.)

join the discussion

