Skip to content

Really? Really?

February 20, 2008

That’s what I kept on thinking as I read this article about James Patterson’s YA books in the New York Times.

There are a lot of choice quotes, like:

According to market research conducted by Codex Group on behalf of Little, Brown, more than 60 percent of the readers of the “Maximum Ride” series are older than 35.

Also,

Little, Brown has also asked booksellers to shelve hardcover editions of the new “Maximum Ride” title and “Daniel X” in the adult section. Six months after hardcover publication, it will release a paperback version for the young-adult sections of the bookstores, and six months after that a mass-market paperback edition for the adult shelves.

Another NYT article, about product placement in a new tween series, has been making waves. TadMack sums up the issue beautifully, so go read that.

And one more link to the Times. According to a new study, teenage boys’ motivation in relationships is not primarily about sex or physical attractiveness. Which, I must say, is really making me think about how guys and romantic relationships are depicted in YA books.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2008 3:09 pm

    I always wonder where the guy romance novels are. They don’t have to have pink covers to be about relationships. I try to push Heavy Metal and You by Chris Krovatin on kids who don’t listen to metal because that’s the closest thing I can think of. Dating and relationships are important to guys and should have a place in books (especially from their perspectives).

  2. February 20, 2008 5:26 pm

    I’m 35, but I also enjoy young adult fiction. I like the clarity of the storytelling, and I also like the sense of wonder and coming of age that’s a big part of this genre. It’s one of the reasons I enjoy writing these books, and reading them too.

    I blogged about that here:
    http://bowjamesbow.ca/2006/11/24/fairy-tales-in-1.shtml

  3. February 28, 2008 6:54 am

    I actually have Patterson’s first book in that series and I am interested in it and well, I went past the age of 35 this year. As you know I enjoy YA fiction especially fantasy and historicals. I just recently read Leftovers by Wiess. Not as captivating as her first book but a solid read that left me underwhelmed. after the whole thing was over.

join the discussion

