Skip to content

Yeah, this makes so much sense

May 12, 2008
by

Not.

I just finished Reading Matters: What the Research Reveals About Reading, Libraries, and Community yesterday (much, much stronger in the adult and children chapters than the YA chapter, in my opinion), but the cover still bothers me.

For a book that’s about pleasure reading, particularly fiction reading, why is the book on the center of the table called Linear Algebra? (You can just make out the title in this image.) Are there no stock photos of people actually reading fiction? Or some book not called Linear Algebra?

In other news, I was reading ESPN The Magazine while eating today. Last place I would have expected to see the cover of Kate Brian’s Sweet 16, but there it was in Outtakes (is that really what it’s called? You’d think I’d know this). Good one! It doesn’t appear online, but if you turn to the second to the last page of the magazine, it’s there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gayle permalink*
    May 13, 2008 12:37 pm

    I think the cover picture is a generic stock picture. I saw it again today in a brochure from Innovative Interfaces.

join the discussion

