Skip to content

Non-Fiction Rant

May 16, 2008
by

I’m not sure if this is going to come out as a plea or a rant, probably a little of both. What is with non-fiction for teenagers?

So here’s a little rant. Why is it, there’s a plethora of lovely non-fiction titles available at a librarian’s ordering whims when it comes to children’s non-fiction, but when it comes to teen or young adult non-fiction it’s like you hear crickets chirping or see tumbleweed rolling across the landscape? There are a few publishers who have cornered the market on YA non-fiction.  These oases of money making machines have learned that if you write it, librarians will buy it.

Maybe I’m just not seeing the bigger picture and I’m stuck in a rut.  If you know of any publishers that I’ve left off of the following list that are age appropriate for YAs let me know, I’d appreciate it.  Until then I’m pretty much going to stick to scanning the catalogs and looking at crossover titles from the realms of the adult and children’s sections.

YA Non-Fiction Publishers:

Chelsea House

Dorling Kindersley

Enslow

Facts on File

Gale: Greenhaven, Lucent

Lerner

Marshall Cavendish: Benchmark

Mason Crest

Rosen

Scholastic

I’m hoping that as soon as I post this, all the resourceful people that I know who read this blog will come to my aid and give me more suggestions to add to my list.  Thanks in advance for your help.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2008 11:43 pm

    There’s Groundwood, which publishes the Groundwork Guides. They’re Canadian, so I’m inclined to like them, even though I’ve only read one book in the series.🙂

    And some of the major NY publishing houses do put out some non-fiction. Okay, very little YA non-fiction, but at least these books are less homework reading, more appealing. Interesting. What’s the word or phrase I’m looking for? Have more teen appeal?

    You know what, I’ll comment again later when I’m more coherent and less congested.

  2. May 19, 2008 7:50 am

    I’d like to add to your rant that the adult department also seems to purchase non-fic that would be great in the teen section (at least they do at our library). Other websites that have some cool books (even if they aren’t all actually written for teens):
    http://www.chroniclebooks.com/
    http://www.quirkbooks.com/Home.aspx
    http://www.orangeavenue.com/shop/category2/
    http://www.watsonguptill.com/

  3. Gayle permalink*
    June 5, 2008 9:03 pm

    I love Chronicle Books! Their publications are so nice…

  4. Rae permalink
    April 6, 2015 12:01 pm

    100 years later, just have to say I totally agree and really appreciate the resources listed here! Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Beyond Twilight: Resources for Non-Fiction and Historical Fiction « YA today

join the discussion

