Skip to content

Band Geek Love by Josie Bloss

May 25, 2008
by

Calling all band geeks!  If you’re a band geek and control freak like I was in high school you are going to love, love, love Band Geek Love by Josie Bloss. 

High school senior and trumpet section leader Ellie Snow has prepared herself for the perfect marching season when something or rather someone unexpected comes into her life.  Ellie is assigned a newbie trumpet player, Conner, the week before the first game.  It doesn’t help that Conner is distracting in the most desirable way, he’s HOT! 

Ever since a freshman year disaster with Jake’s older brother and then trumpet section leader Nathan, Ellie has decided to remain single and unencumbered by the likes to high school romance.  Will this new kid Conner change her tune about high school romance?  And is it true what they say about trumpet players?  Are they good kissers?  To find out read Band Geek Love by Josie Bloss. 

Band Geek Love is scheduled for release July 1, 2008 from Flux.

Also check out Little Willow’s review and interview with author Josie Bloss.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 3:06 am

    ahh! I just bought this yesterday! No idea why it was in a used bookstore when it’s release isn’t until July. It didn’t look like an arc!

  2. May 25, 2008 3:19 am

    Hilarious. But too perfect. I was a high school “band geek” too. I so hope my office gets this arc.

  3. May 26, 2008 5:46 am

    I love this book – and you nailed the reason why! I’m not very romantic, but I AM an uber control freak like Ellie!🙂 It’s just such a fun, fun book. I look forward to the sequel Josie has in the works…

  4. May 26, 2008 5:09 pm

    I have to admit I couldn’t get through fifty pages of this partly because of Ellie’s control freak issues. I thought she was one of the scariest characters I’ve read this year, right up there with Rarunga in Moribito! Okay, I’m exaggerating, but she was so scarily into marching band, it freaked this former marching band member out. (Admittedly, I was only in marching band because it was required of all freshman and sophomores in band, and I was only in band for the arts credit, but still.) I also thought there was too much telling, not showing, especially in the first chapter.

    • Kaileigh permalink
      July 7, 2011 6:17 pm

      She is not a scary character! And the only reason she is SO into marching band is because that’s the only thing she has know sinced middle school. Also, once she meets Connor she turns into a loving, better person. Because I’ll admit she was kind of a bi***.

      • Kaileigh permalink
        July 7, 2011 6:18 pm

        Oops! I meant she was kind of a bi*** before she met him.

  5. May 27, 2008 9:50 pm

    I reviewed this for The Edge of the Forest last month, and I agree: I struggled with the first fifty pages because Ellie is NOT a lovable character, and the way we’re just told everything about her caused me to sort of hate her immediately. However, after that, there’s a turn around point where she becomes if not fully sympathetic, more realistic and it was easier to get into her character.

  6. Gayle permalink*
    May 29, 2008 9:20 pm

    I too didn’t really like Ellie at first but to some degree it was a hyper-version of me in high school. I could totally identify with her. Amazing since I’m now so mellow. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. More reviews! | JosieBloss.com
  2. Elf Envy: Books I want that other people like (a lot) « Shelf Elf: read, write, rave.
  3. Geek love | kt literary

join the discussion

