Skip to content

Call Me Sentimental…

June 18, 2008
by

This post is not intended to make the next YA Librarian at Liliha library feel intimidated or inferior, (Tina I think you’re awesome!) I just wanted to blog about my feelings… I miss Sheryl and it hasn’t been that long. Technically I shouldn’t be missing her yet because it’s not like we see each other on a regular basis or correspond frequently, but there was something reassuring about having her around to talk to, bounce ideas off of, and glean information from. I know she’s still around in a different capacity and will no doubt be an awesome adult services librarian, BUT she was one of my YA Librarian heroes. Not saying that everyone else who’s still in YA is chopped liver, but it’s going to be odd not having Sheryl around at the meetings. It was always great to hear about her TAG, her programs, and opinions on thought provoking books.

Sheryl leaving YA makes me wonder about my own longevity as a YA librarian. How long will I last? And who’s going to be the next one to leave us? Why are all the branch managers adult services librarians? Can’t you be a YA Librarian and a branch manager? What does that say about YA librarianship? Moreover what does that say about our organization’s valuation of youth services? Are we only good for Summer Reading Programs and crafts?

Anyway, I’ll stop now because when you get me started on this topic, it’s hard to stop me. And for those of you who know me in person know that I can talk a mile a minute–which isn’t always a good thing especially when I start to become impassioned and nonsensical.

So in summation, I miss Sheryl. I don’t want to see more YA Librarians go the way of the adult… at least for now. Although if you feel it’s right for you, don’t let me stop you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2008 9:42 pm

    I know! I was SHOCKED when I found out Sheryl was going to Kapolei. (And, man, have Kapolei patrons been lucky in their Adult Services librarians.) My first thought was, “Sheryl’s not going to be a YA librarian anymore?!” My second was, “Wow, the person who replaces her will have huge shoes to fill.”

    My guess is that branch managers do adult services because doing class visits and booktalking and storytime or programs + all the administrative stuff managers have to do = way too much work.

  2. Sarah permalink
    June 19, 2008 10:12 am

    You’ve raised some very interesting points for me to think about. I’m just finishing up my MLIS and I’m taking the required management course right now and yeah… why aren’t more YA or even children’s librarians becoming managers?

    I want to be a YA librarian myself and while I don’t aspire to be a branch manager, it’s a very interesting point.

  3. Jolene permalink*
    June 19, 2008 4:19 pm

    Yeah the meetings won’t be the same without Sheryl’s great insight. But on the same token I think it’s wonderful that she got a position at Kapolei and maybe someday she will be a branch manager! Yay! Yeah I agree with Trisha I think it would be too much work to do children’s services or YA as well as branch manager. (Believe me I had to do it all for 2 months while my Branch Manager was on leave.)

join the discussion

