Skip to content

Star Gazing and Shoe Gazing Display

August 19, 2008

This is my August display: Star Gazing and Shoe Gazing.

Books featured from left to right:

Top row: Batman: No Man’s Land Vol. 1 by Bob Gale and Devin Grayson, Black Pearls: A Faerie Strand by Louise Hawes, Vampire Kisses by Ellen Schreiber, Sneaker Freaker by Simon Wood

Bottom row: Gothic and Lolita by Masayuki Yoshinaga and Katsuhiko Ishikawa, Oh My Goth by Gena Showalter, Ironside:A Modern Faery’s Tale by Holly Black, Goth-Icky: A Macbre Menagerie of Monstrosities by Michael J. Nelson and Charles S. Anderson Design Company, Death Note Vol. 1 by Tsugumi Ohba.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2008 5:53 am

    I may have to borrow (i.e., steal) this idea for a book display in my junior high library. Can I ask what criteria you used in choosing the books?

  2. August 25, 2008 11:04 am

    As one of the authors featured in your display, Gayle, I’m hoping the criteria included great writing🙂 In any case, I LOVE the idea and am honored to be part of it!

  3. Gayle permalink*
    August 27, 2008 6:11 pm

    I’m all about the sharing of ideas.

    The criteria for choosing the books besides their great literary merit was basically young adult books having gothic characters, settings, and/or relating to stars or shoes. The shoe part only really fits in with Sneaker Freaker.

    I basically picked books out of our (medium sized public library) collection to feature in this display. I figured with all the buzz for vampires I could parlay it into a goth display. The age group that I’m targeting is from 7th -12th grade although I think I’ve caught the eye of many an adult. Not all titles may be appropriate for middle schoolers, I think Deathnote has a teen 16+ rating.

    Thanks for the feedback.

join the discussion

