Skip to content

I was planning

November 11, 2008
tags:
by

on writing a review tonight, but ended up playing around with Wordle instead.

A couple months ago, Scott Westerfeld wordle-d the bands and singers he listens to.

I thought, “Ooh, that looks like fun,” so I did it too.* Here’s what I’ve got on my computer:

wordle1

I have to say, though, this is not really representative of what I’m *listening* to these days. Unless the Pumpkins pop up on Party Shuffle or a playlist, I haven’t listened to them in years.

Although I am listening to Ryan Adams right now. (As in, as I write this.) Even though I swore last year that I wouldn’t buy any more of his albums because I was so pissed off by what he did to “Hey There Mrs. Lovely” on Easy Tiger, I ended up buying Cardinology anyway. Which, so far, I’m not liking anywhere near as much as Cold Roses. So once again, I am going to swear that I won’t buy any more of his albums. This was the last one. REALLY! (And watch me buy the next one whenever it comes out. Oy.)

* If you want to do it, here are my instructions, adapted from Scott Westerfeld’s:

  1. In iTunes, select all tracks and copy (from your music only playlist, if you’ve got a lot of audiobooks, podcasts, etc. saved)
  2. Paste to a spreadsheet
  3. Adjust artist(s) names, if necessary (in my case, getting rid of or replacing all the “Various Artists” from compilations downloaded from eMusic, since when I did it without this step, the words Various and Artists were just as big as Smashing and Pumpkins)
  4. Highlight appropriate cells and copy
  5. Paste into Wordle, hit the “Go” button, and voila!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 7:56 am

    Too cool!

  2. lindsey from eva perry permalink
    November 11, 2008 6:12 pm

    Oooh, I just learned about Wordle this weekend at the YA Lit Symposium. I think this would be cool for people to do with favorite books and then make silkscreen or iron ons for t-shirts.

  3. November 11, 2008 7:02 pm

    Isn’t it?

    I’ve been trying to think of ways I could use this in a teen program, but considering how slow our internet connection is in the library, I’m thinking a display would work best. For example, post a Wordle I’ve made, maybe even this one, and leave instructions teens can take. If they have internet at home, they can do it and bring in a printout of their Wordle, and we can do a Wordle display of favorite authors or favorite music or favorite whatever.

  4. November 13, 2008 11:15 am

    Cool! Great idea for displays/programming too. Will rip you off, k?

    *grin*

  5. November 14, 2008 2:26 pm

    As long as I don’t get in trouble for doing this instead of reading or reviewing a Cybils book.🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Cybele Wordle « Bookworm 4 Life

join the discussion

