Skip to content

Gobbledigook

December 11, 2008
tags:
by

(aka, my attempt to keep blogging even as I drown in Cybils nominees)

I’ve actually seen two versions of this, so I’ll do both and hope nothing embarrassing plays.

Version #1

  1. Put your iTunes, Windows Media Player, Winamp, etc. on shuffle.
  2. For each question, press the next button to get your answer.
  3. YOU MUST WRITE THAT SONG NAME DOWN NO MATTER HOW SILLY IT SOUNDS.
  4. Put the artist after a dash following the song name.
  5. Put any comments in brackets.
  6. Tag some lucky people to spread the disease.

Before I get started, I’ll mention that I’m doing this with my only music playlist. You don’t want one of these answers to be Part 010 of 104 of Philip Pullman’s The Ruby in the Smoke, do you?

How would you describe yourself?
Dishes – Pulp
[I am not Jesus, and I don’t have the same initials. So, no. This is not how I’d describe myself.]

How do you feel today?
The Long Road – Eddie Vedder and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan

What is your life’s purpose?
When You Come Back Down – Nickel Creek

What is your motto?
Something’s Changed – Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings

What do you think about very often?
TV Show – Martha Wainwright
[You mean, what’s going to happen to Dean on Supernatural? I want to know, but I can’t say I think about it that often.]

What is your life story?
Dear Doctor – The Rolling Stones
[I hate going to the doctor.]

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Evil and a Heathen – Franz Ferdinand
[Okay, now that’s funny.]

What will you dance to at your wedding?
Karma Chameleon – The Culture Club
[Scary thought. Why not something else from the ’80s?]

What will they play at your funeral?
Magick – Ryan Adams & The Cardinals

What is your hobby/interest?
A Boy Named Sue – Johnny Cash
[Well, at least it’s not “Dirty Old Egg-Suckin’ Dog.” Or “Flushed from the Bathroom of Your Heart.” Or anything about cocaine or shooting a man in Reno just to see him die. Or… well, you get the picture.]

If you could do anything right now, what would it be?
Meeting at the Building – Leadbelly

What do you want most of all?
Mona Lisa – Jesse Malin
[Not quite.]

What is your greatest fear?
Desperate Ain’t Lonely – Whiskeytown
[True, I don’t want to be desperate or lonely. And, man, I love this song.]

What is your darkest secret?
A Rush of Blood to the Head – Coldplay

What is your favorite thing in the world?
Waltz (Better than Fine) – Fiona Apple
[But I don’t know how to waltz.]

If you could have one wish, what would you wish for?
Let the Music Play – Barry White

What is your theme song?
Jellybelly – Smashing Pumpkins
[???]

The next time you hear this song (aside from now, that is), you must dance:
Secret Pint – Mogwai
[That would be one weird looking dance.]

What will you post this as?
Gobbledigook – Sigur Ròs
[Honest, that’s what came on.]

Version #2 [from Interactive Reader.]:
What would best describe your personality?

Holaal Bu Baah – Wasis Diop
[Anyone know what this means?]

What do you like in a guy/girl?
Ocean of Noise – Arcade Fire
[That might drive me crazy.]

What is your life’s purpose?
I’m Ready – The Twilight Singers
[to find out what my purpose is.]

What is your motto?
Fljótavík – Sigur Ròs
[Once again, anyone know what this means? Or should I pretend this makes me seem mysterious and deep?]

What do your friends think of you?
Tell Me In the Morning – Cold War Kids

What do you think about very often
Valle Místico – Conor Oberst

What is 2+2?
2 Far – Shivaree
[Apparently, it’s 2 difficult a question for me 2 answer.]

What do you think of your best friend?
Love on the March – Belle & Sebastian

What do you think of the person you like?
New Country – The Walkmen

What is your life story?
Star/Fool – The Damnwells
[Do I get a choice?]

What do you want to be when you grow up?
She Has No Time – Keane
[since I’ll always be young at heart? Trying to think positively here, because, to quote a Lurlene McDaniel book title, I’m too young to die!]

What do you think when you see the person you like?
Opening – Philip Glass
[??? The song is from Mishima, on The Truman Show soundtrack, if anyone was wondering.]

What do your parents think of you?
Curtain Call – Ryan Auffenberg
[Don’t know what this has to do with my parents, but can I just plug this album? LOVE IT!]

What will you dance to at your wedding?
The Greys – Frightened Rabbit
[Wait, it’s supposed to be a happy day. Two chances to come up with a good song. C’mon, nothing romantic at all?]

What will they play at your funeral?
Phenomena – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

What is your hobby/interest?
Anodyne – Uncle Tupelo
[Again, ???]

What is your biggest secret?
The Dam at Otter Creek – Live
[Not anymore, since now everyone knows I have Live on my iPod.]

What do you think of your friends?
The Letter – PJ Harvey
[Can you hear some of them laughing? I’m so bad at keeping in touch with everyone.]

What’s the worst thing that could happen?
Shake Your Love – Debbie Gibson
[I’m actually not ashamed of how big a Debbie Gibson fan I used to be. I guess that means the worst thing that could happen is being unable to shake your love? Because *cough* I’m under a spell again / Boy, I’m wondering why / This is not a game of love … Okay, maybe the worst thing that could happen is for me to admit that I didn’t have to look up these lyrics. I actually wrote them from memory.]

How will you die?
Eternal Life – Jeff Buckly
[No, I don’t want to be a vampire! Or zombie, for that matter.]

What is the one thing you regret?
Oxford Comma – Vampire Weekend

What makes you laugh?
Everything I Do – Whiskeytown

What makes you cry?
Empty – The Cranberries

Will you ever get married?
I Can’t Wait – The White Stripes
[Wait, I’m not that desperate.]

If someone says “Is this okay” you say?
Pieces of Sky – Beth Orton
[Why couldn’t this at least have been a good Beth Orton song?]

What scares you the most?
Gotta Get Away – The Offspring

Does anyone like you?
So Many Friends – Martha Wainwright
[Someone still alive, please.]

If you could go back in time, what would you change?
Cold Roses – Ryan Adams & The Cardinals
[Not buying some of his other albums! I mean, as much as I like this one and a few of his others, some of them…]

What hurts right now?
Thank You Louise – Ryan Adams
[Yeah, rub it in, why don’t you?]

What will you post this as?
Have a Good Life Baby – Dusty Springfield
[I like Gobbledigook better as a title for this.]

And anyone who wants to do one or both, have at it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 12, 2008 11:31 am

    “Will you ever get married?
    I Can’t Wait – The White Stripes
    [Wait, I’m not that desperate.]”

    HAHA! Love it!

    Thanks for being my source of amusement for the day!

join the discussion

