Skip to content

Looking ahead to 2009

December 28, 2008
by

With the Cybils, I haven’t been able to read everything on my lists of 2008 books that I was looking forward to, but does that stop me from making a list of the 2009 books I want to read? Noooooo.

Categorized again, but not alphabetically.

For someone who claims not to care for vampire books, there seem to be a lot of them on this list cover of Nightfall by L. J. Smith
Nightfall (The Vampire Diaries) by L. J. Smith is probably the book I’m most looking forward to. In my interview with L. J. Smith, she described it this way:

A pair of twin fox spirits, who have long black hair tipped with red at the ends like flames licking upward, who spread a possession not unlike that which gripped the victims of Salem in 1692, but modernized to the twenty-first century. (One victim pierces every part of her body—at home.) Damon turning from hunter to hunted as he cheats the twins and tries to steal Elena away alone. Damon, possessed, the apotheosis of evil, who wants Elena more than ever, and who will humiliate or kill her friends to get her. Elena’s blood an elixir that can supercharge any vampire who drinks it—making her a magnet for every vampire in the world. Glimpses of another world where evil reigns supreme. . . and where Stefan has gone, determined to get rid of the curse of his vampirism. Elena finding that she actually likes Damon when he’s not possessed, and having a crisis of the heart. Meredith, Alaric and the Field of Punished Virgins. Bonnie’s anguished choice between good old Matt Honeycutt, and bad old Damon Salvatore. Each well-loved character dealing with the change and challenges of growing up. And don’t forget, someone will die in the end of the trilogy—and is not coming back.

Lords of Misrule and Carpe Corpus (The Morganville Vampires) by Rachel Caine. Especially after Steph’s interview with Caine, since 1) I now know everything will be tied up with these two books; and 2) the Claire and Shane news.

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy) by Richelle Mead. Especially after the way Shadow Kiss ended. (It’s true. I cheated on my Cybils reading to read all 400+ pages of Shadow Kiss instead of a book nominated in my category.)

Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey.

cover of Fragile Eternity by Melissa MarrBut they say faeries are the new vampires…
Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner.

Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr (read Jolene’s interview with her). And the gorgeous cover doesn’t hurt.

Fairy Lust by Cyn Balog.

Wings by Aprilynne Pike. The book sounds cool and the cover image on her website features a blurb by Stephanie Meyer, so I’m thinking a lot of Meyer’s readers are going to pick it up like they did The Hunger Games. Plus, Aprilynne Pike is a doula. How cool is that?

…and that zombies are the new faeries
You Are So Undead to Me by Stacey Jay.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan.

You might not be able to tell from what I’ve reviewed, but I LOVE me a good paranormal thriller/suspense (though I suppose all the Christopher Pike and L. J. Smith mentions recently have been a clue?)
The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting.

Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender.

I’ve actually read this and it was awesome but I’m sticking it on this list anyway so more people will know about it
Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith.

I read the description and I still have no idea what it’s about
Raven by Allison van Diepen. But I liked Street Pharm and Snitch, so I want to read this one, too. Although, I am rather surprised that it’s in hardcover.

I don’t watch soap operas but maybe I should
Red Carpet Riot by David van Etten. I haven’t had the chance to read the second book in this series yet, but assuming it’s as addictive as the first? Book #3 makes the list.

Call me shallow, but have you seen these covers?
Silver Phoenix: Beyond the Kingdom of Xia by Cindy Pon

Beyond the Kingdom of Xia by Cindy Poncover of The Reluctant Heiress by Eva Ibbotson

The Reluctant Heiress by Eva Ibbotson

Just because of the title
Psych Major Syndrome by Alicia Thompson.

Between the fabulous historical novels published this year and Flygirl, I’m looking forward to next year’s historical fiction offerings
An Unclaimed Heart by Kim Wilkins just sounds so luscious. I’m assuming it’s set in Australia, and the description makes me think of my favorite Candice Proctor romances (September Moon and Whispers of Heaven, in case anyone was wondering), so I want to read this even more.

An illicit love—an oppressive father—a quest for truth.

The rules for a young English woman in 1799 are simple: Do what you’re told; stay out of the way; and don’t, under any circumstances, ask questions.

But Constance Blackchurch is insatiable, headstrong,and complex; and the quest to find her missing mother is too much to resist…

…as is Alexandre Sans-Nom, the pearl diver who steals her heart, uproots all of her social expectations, and can either ruin or save the family she loves.

Shelter Me by Alex McAulay.

The Season by Sarah McLean. I’m just hoping it’s better than Bewitching Season and La Petite Four. It got a good review at Kidliterate, though. On the other hand…oh, I’m just going to say it: the fact that she signed with Avon for (what I assume to be) three adult romances makes me kind of wary.

guardian-of-the-darknessSequels, sequels, and more sequels
Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce, because I’ve been anxious to read it ever Terrier came out.

Being Nikki by Meg Cabot, because I really enjoyed Airhead.

Guardian of the Darkness by Nahoko Uehashi, because I want to know what happens to Balsa.

Hunger by Michael Grant. Don’t know if I’ll stick with the entire series, but as I said in my review of Gone, I’ll be reading at least this one.

Fade by Lisa McMann.

I enjoyed their previous books
Something Maybe by Elizabeth Scott.

Brutal by Michael Harmon.

Geek Charming by Robin Palmer.

A Kiss In Time by Alex Flinn (read Jolene’s review). Okay, it’s more accurate to say that I really liked Beastly, and this sounds like it’s along the lines of Beastly, not Flinn’s contemporary realistic fiction.

Hey, a YA mystery! With a guy!
The Morgue and Me by John C. Ford. I’ve been waiting for this since Sarah Weinman mentioned the deal…in March 2007.

Sounds a bit cliched, but oh my god, I’ve got to read this
A Match Made in High School by Kristin Walker. Keeping in mind that I freaking loved Simone Elkeles’ Perfect Chemistry.

Until Detention Do Us Part

When the principal announces that every senior must participate in a mandatory year-long Marriage Education program, Fiona Sheehan believes that her life can’t get any worse. Then she marries her “husband”: jerky jock Todd, whose cheerleader girlfriend, Amanda, has had it in for Fiona since day one of second grade. Even worse? Amanda is paired with Fiona’s long-term crush, Gabe. At least Fiona is doing better than her best friend, Marcie, who is paired up with the very quiet, very mysterious Johnny Mercer.

Pranks, fights, misunderstandings, and reconciliations ensue in an almost Shakespearean comedy of errors about mistaken first impressions, convoluted coupling, and hidden crushes.

It’s by Sarah Dessen. I’m reading it.
Along for the Ride. I think the heading says it all.

I haven’t read the manga yet, but I heard the novel is better
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya by Nagaru Tanigawa.

Non-fiction
Denied, Detained, Deported: Stories from the Dark Side of American Immigration by Ann Bausum, the author of the fabulous With Courage and Cloth: Winning the Fight for a Woman’s Right to Vote.

Stick It!: 99 DIY Duct Tape Projects by T. L. Bonaddio so I can do something besides wallets as a teen craft with duct tape.

CosmoGIRL! Cool Room: 40 Make-It-Yourself Projects by Mark Montano. Because 1) when I reviewed CosmoGIRL! Make It Yourself: 50 Fun and Funky Projects, I said, “While it’s nice to see clothing, accessories, and bath/beauty project all in one book, I do wish that there was also a section on crafts you could make for your room or as gifts” (not that I think they’re coming out with this book because of me, though that would be nice); and 2) I liked Montano’s Big Ass Book of Crafts.

It’s on the bottom of this list for a reason
cover of Perfect Fifths by Megan McCaffertybecause a part of me wants to read it, and a part of me wants to avoid it as much as possible: Perfect Fifths by Megan McCafferty. So I kinda want to read it because it’s partly from Marcus’s perspective. But I also don’t want to read it because I couldn’t even finish Charmed Thirds, I was so determined not to let it ruin my love of Sloppy Firsts and Second Helpings. Maybe I’ll just read the Marcus sections, because Steph’s interview with McCafferty halfway convinced me to give it a try, like how I ended up only reading the Charmed Thirds parts about Bridget and Percy. (Hey, whatever happened to them in book #4? I skipped it, so can anyone fill me in?) Maybe I’ll have Gayle read it first and tell me what happens. I don’t know! What should I do?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2008 6:06 am

    eeeee! there’s my heroine! =D
    i’m also ga ga over my cover, and after
    many revisions with my fantastic editor,
    i think my story is worthy of it!
    thanks for adding me to the looking foward
    list!! cindy, signing in from london and also
    looking forward to 2009!

  2. Laura permalink
    December 29, 2008 3:13 am

    I was reading something at DearAuthor.com and in the comments section, someone wrote that she was going to avoid Sarah McLean’s book, The Season, because her adult historicals were so inaccurate. YA author Sarah McLean commented that there must be a different Sarah McLean because she has only written one book for teens. So I think there’s a possibility the author who signed with Avon for 3 romances is not the same author who has written the teen book The Season. It would be a shame if the author’s first novel is overlooked because she’s being mistaken for someone else!

  3. December 29, 2008 12:47 pm

    Laura – Oh, I didn’t see that comment at DA. The Publishers Marketplace deal report did say that the three Avon books were by the author of The Season, though. I’m still going to give The Season a try (and who knows, maybe lowered expectations are a good thing). It’s just that I am one of those people in the Avon romance = generic Regencies camp. And, well, I would probably be more excited if she had sold to another publishing house, even though signing with Avon is great for her, because they definitely know what they’re doing.

  4. Martha Flynn permalink
    December 29, 2008 7:15 pm

    How about the Hunger Games sequel? Is that coming out in 2009? I hope so. Waiting is not my strong suit.

  5. Laura permalink
    December 30, 2008 3:27 am

    Trisha, I’m almost positive the comments were in DA’s Publishing News section. They occasionally list recent sales from Publishers Marketplace with personal commentary. I just searched the site, but couldn’t find the latest recent sales post. If I find out whether she’s the same author, I’ll let you know.

  6. December 30, 2008 8:18 am

    Hey, thanks for listing my book up there! I just love this blog to pieces, I’m bookmarking it as required reading🙂

  7. December 30, 2008 6:21 pm

    I’m pretty sure the Sarah McLean who recently signed with Avon is the same author of The Season. I believe the commenter at DA was mistakenly confusing McLean with a different author who *did* have adult books out. Maybe this other author had a similar name.

    What I am curious about is why the fact that she signed a contract to write adult as well would make you wary of reading her YA? There are a ton of authors who write both: Stephenie Meyer, Alice Hoffman, Scott Westerfeld, me…

  8. December 31, 2008 6:37 am

    *squee!* I’m so excited to have made your list!!

    Also, since she is a friend of mine, I will clear this up. Sarah MacLean of The Season is the same Sarah MacLean who recently signed with Avon. However, The Season is her debut. If there is another Sarah MacLean out therer, THAT is the one that is not the same person. Having read The Season I promise you it is well researched and features an awesome heroine who is strong and inventive! Sarah is a huge regency buff and her novels are all really well researched. I hope her writing both won’t scare you away! her book is totally wonderful!!

    Oh, and could the cover for The Reluctant Heiress be any more gorgeous!!! *swoon!*

  9. January 1, 2009 1:10 pm

    Well, I was going to clear this up myself, but it looks like Aprilynne and Diana did it for me! So…what they said! (And, thanks, Aprilynne…I’m blushing from your description of the book!)

    I’m both The Season Sarah MacLean and the Avon Sarah MacLean…the other MacLean is just that…(another MacLean or possibly a McLean…but not a Sarah) 🙂

    I’m happy to see that you’re willing to take a chance on me…in spite of the Avon deal. While I’m over the moon about it, I understand that you’ve got your own opinions of adult romance…although I can’t guarantee that I won’t try to change your mind about the genre! I like to think that my first adult book is something slightly different than your standard Regency!

    Either way, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on The Season!

    also…is it wrong that I covet Cindy Pon’s cover?

  10. January 3, 2009 12:02 am

    Wow, thanks to everyone who so graciously commented on the confusion surrounding The Season.

    Diana – My issue, if you want to call it that, isn’t that she’s writing both YA and adult (although, for romance authors who do write both, I tend to either read the adult but not the YA or vice versa. For some reason, I haven’t found a romance/YA author yet whose writing I find enjoyable in both adult romance and YA fiction); it’s that I think I was more excited about reading The Season before learning she’d be writing adult romances *for* Avon. If it was any other publisher (especially Berkley), the news would probably have made me more excited to read The Season. Like I said, I’ve got a lot of respect for Avon as a publishing house and I can see why lots of authors would want to sign with them. But, personally, my tastes in romance novels just don’t match with what they publish. I think I’ve only read two or three historical romances published by Avon in the last five or so years that I’ve really liked and while I’ll read YA vampire books, I tend to avoid vampire romances. These days, most of the romances I read are published by Penguin, Dorchester, Kensington, Harlequin (20% off + free shipping + lots of sales/deals = lots of orders from eharlequin.com for me) or epubs. When I first started reading romances, though, I read a lot of the books Avon published. Now, it seems like every historical they publish is set in or near the Regency period, and I would just love for them to publish something like My Beloved (by Karen Ranney) again. It probably wouldn’t make as much money, though… *sob* why can’t more people have the same taste as me? Because I. So. Love. That. Book. *sob*

    Sarah MacLean – Thanks for dropping by! Congratulations on the Avon deal and I hope I didn’t offend you with my comments.

  11. Laura permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:08 am

    I’m sorry I caused the confusion! I was pretty sure Sarah MacLean posted at Dear Author to let someone know she had not written the historical romances the poster didn’t like because her first novel (The Season) hadn’t even been published yet! (I couldn’t find the post at DA.) Good luck to all of you with your books and thanks for the list. I plan to buy too many on it.

  12. January 8, 2009 8:28 am

    Gosh, I did not know there was a new Uehashi coming up–we read the first book for the Cybils, and I enjoyed it very much! I keep finding more books I’m looking forward to, and had to do a part II list, so this would be first on the Part III list if it came to that…….

  13. Alicia Thompson permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:16 pm

    I read this blog all the time, and as the author of PSYCH MAJOR SYNDROME, I’m so excited to see myself listed on here! I’m excited about the book coming out in August, and would really like to hear what people think about it after reading. This blog also got me even more psyched for a bunch of other books coming out this year — I can’t wait!

Trackbacks

  1. Dude, I forgot about Oishinbo! « The YA YA YAs
  2. Meg Cabot - Psych Major Syndrome

join the discussion

