Skip to content

I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump

January 12, 2009
by

since, um, last Thursday. Which may not sound like much, but it’s the first time I can remember struggling to get into every single book I picked up (and we’re talking, like, ten different books here—YA fiction, adult fiction, adult non-fiction, and graphic novels) for more than a day or two, and I haven’t been able to finish a book even though I really want something to read (as opposed to going 4+ days without finishing a book because I didn’t have the time to read). I can’t blame the Cybils for this, since I actually read seven books the first week of this year. Or maybe it’s a delayed reaction, since there were so many books I wanted to read but couldn’t get to because of my Cybils reading, and not knowing where to start now that I can read them.

Or maybe I should blame this on Rachel Caine, because while I did manage to finish two books after I read Lord of Misrule, it was a struggle to get through both. And then after those two, nothing. I was totally looking forward to Lord of Misrule, and Caine did not let me down. It was just as intense and exciting as the previous Morganville books and, seriously, that preview of Carpe Corpus? 100% worked. I mean, I’d be excited about it even without the preview, but having read it, I’m even more impatient. So, maybe it really is Rachel Caine’s fault for writing such a fast-paced book, compelling book that I’ve been bored and impatient with everything else I’ve picked up since then.

Until I get out of this slump, I think I’ll just entertain myself by blogging about random things like this: I picked up Daniel Ehrenhaft’s Dirty Laundry the other day (post-Lord of Misrule, so I didn’t get past p. 15).

cover of Generation Dead by Daniel Waters

Oops, that’s not the cover.

cover of Cracked Up To Be by Courntey Summers

Nope, not this one.

cover of Leap of Faith by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Wait, it’s not this one, either.

cover of Dirty Laundry by Daniel Ehrenhaft

Oh, here it is!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 12, 2009 5:02 pm

    I just noticed a couple of those covers the other day! Is this going to replace half-of-a-girl’s-face as the YA cover of choice?

  2. January 12, 2009 5:27 pm

    Bwa ha ha… Yeah, I had the same thought when I saw the cover of Dirty Laundry, but I couldn’t remember which other titles had the same photo on the cover.

    And I hear ya about the reading ADD… I’ve had it post-Cybils, too. I have such a huge stack of books that I wanted to read after the Cybils that I feel like I can’t focus on anything.

    • January 12, 2009 10:37 pm

      I think part of it might be that I read the two 1/09 releases I was most looking forward to, and I knew I HAD to read one of the others. And now that I’ve read them, I’m kind of stuck.

  3. January 13, 2009 1:13 am

    Yeah, me too — and then there’s the big stack of things I want to read but can’t find yet — so I’m just trying to figure out what end of the TBR to attack first.

    I *really* wish they’d cut it the heck out with those covers. It’s bad enough that some of the storylines are starting to blur in my head…

  4. January 13, 2009 9:31 am

    Is there only one cover designer in the world or something? There have to be some other creative people at the publishing houses. And the sooner they quit with the “headless cover girl” thing the better.

  5. January 14, 2009 4:58 am

    haha i love how they changed the color of a couple things like the books and bracelets, as if that is enough to hinder anyone discovering it’s the same photo.

    i think authors should be required to draw/doodle/photograph their own covers. much more interesting that way!

  6. January 14, 2009 8:13 am

    Gotta love stock photography.

  7. January 20, 2009 1:01 pm

    Hope your reading slump clears up soon!!!

join the discussion

