Skip to content

Love is in the air

February 3, 2009
by

It’s also the title of my new book display, but since my camera is broken, no pictures of the beautiful, eye-catching, and colorful sign made by my lovely teen volunteer.

As you can guess, this display is of romance-ish novels. (Maybe I’m splitting hairs, but I have a hard time calling a lot of YA books with romances in them romance novels. See the discussion here for a recap and booklist.) I’m trying to include romances for guys and GLBTQ romances but have to admit, it consists mostly of girly books right now because some of the books I wanted to include were already checked out. Good for the books, bad for my display.

In the new issue of School Library Journal,* Donna Freitas wrote an article called “Be Still My Heart: A Shameless Guide to Sweet, Sexy Romance Novels for Teens and Tweens.”

Many people view romance novels as fluffy and not worth reading. These are the same people who ask pointed questions like, Why should teens waste time on intoxicating, heady, first love when they can instead trudge through a despair-inducing journey of real-life pain and agony? Granted, books that tackle heavy issues have an important place in one’s reading life, but so do lighthearted novels that do nothing more than make your heart go pitter patter—especially during those years when kids are just beginning to feel their pulse race.

Her booklist is organized by categories, like “Best Extended Foreplay and Most Likely to Get Married” and “Best Declaration of Love.” I haven’t read all the books she mentions, but “Most Likely to Melt Your Fingers While Reading Because It’s So Hot”? I think the honor has got to go to either Belle and Tom from Carrie JonesTips on Having a Gay (ex) Boyfriend or Lauren and Evan from Elizabeth Scott‘s Bloom.

And if you enjoy YA romances, there’s a new blog you might like, Young Adult Romance Reviews.

* Also highly recommended in the February SLJ are “A Dirty Little Secret,” about self-censorship, which opens with a discussion of my favorite book of 2007, Barry Lyga‘s Boy Toy, and the 2009 annotated Outstanding International Books list from the United States Board on Books for Young People.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana permalink
    February 4, 2009 4:16 am

    I totally agree with Lauren and Evan in Bloom as so hot it will melt your fingers. All their scenes were but that first kiss between them was smokin’ !!

    Thanks for the mention of my blog (http://yaromancereviews.blogspot.com/).

  2. February 6, 2009 1:57 am

    You’re welcome!

  3. February 6, 2009 2:55 pm

    Really? I don’t remember Bloom being that “hot,” although it has been a while since I read it. I vote for Nick & Norah!

  4. February 7, 2009 8:25 am

    Here is a “Love Sucks” bulletin board I did last year that was a huge hit. It was by far the most commented-on bulletin board/display I’ve ever done (except for, possibly, the all pink books display). It’s vampire romance themed.

    http://atruereality.blogspot.com/2008/02/love-sucks-photo.html

    I wish more people posted photos of their displays. I need ideas!

  5. lindsey from eva perry permalink
    February 8, 2009 4:12 pm

    Thanks for posting a link to this article. This is timely. I have a romance display now, too. This gives me some great ideas.

  6. February 8, 2009 11:48 pm

    Sheryl – I remember that post! I thought it was a great title/theme, so I copied you and used it, too.

    As for Bloom, I just remember a great chemistry and tension between Lauren and Evan. But it’s been almost two years since I read it, so I could be mistaken.

  7. Ana permalink
    February 10, 2009 2:30 am

    Here’s a little refresher on Evan and Lauren’s hotness:

    http://yaromancereviews.blogspot.com/2009/02/hot-moment-1.html

join the discussion

