Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturdays

February 7, 2009

Adele is starting Soundtrack Saturdays at Persnickety Snark.

soundtrack-sat

1. Every week we’ll post about how music meshed with your reading that week. I want to make this a looser meme where you can briefly mention the link between music and your book of the moment.

Ideas:
* A song mentioned in a book that you were introduced to because of an author.
*An author’s playlist – is there one (link if there is)? What did you think?
*A song that you thought while reading and how you think it fits to a scene or character, etc.
*Lyrics that reminded you of a book that you haven’t read in ages.
*Basically anything that links your book with a song or playlist.

Preferably posts will be made every Saturday, but feel free to choose a day that works best for you.

2. You’re participating? Great, welcome aboard. Please then make the effort to see what others are thinking by commenting on their blogs. Imagine the new musicians you might be introduced to.

3. Welcome one, welcome all. Join at any point and post when you can. Link back to Persnickety Snark as well. Cheers!

I think this is such a cool idea! Unfortunately, nothing I’m listening to now (for the last couple of weeks, it’s been Bon Iver‘s Blood Bank, Antony and the JohnsonsThe Crying Light, and my Jellicoe Road playlist, which I’ve already blogged about) ties into what I’ve been reading (Penguin Revolution vol. 6 and Come On Shore and We Will Kill and Eat You All by Christina Thompson).😦

But if you’ve got something to share, Adele’s first Soundtrack Saturday post is up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 6:02 pm

    Cool idea! I find it hard to listen to music while reading (well, music with lyrics at least) but I like the other ideas for talking about how music meshed with your reading!

  2. February 8, 2009 8:55 pm

    I’m stuck, too. I don’t tend to think of music as relating to my reading and I don’t listen to music and read at the same time, so curses!

    Maybe I’ll start, though…

join the discussion

