Skip to content

Obviously, I need to pay more attention to celebrity gossip

February 20, 2009
by

because I was flipping through the new Entertainment Weekly at lunch today and saw that

Mandy Moore and Ryan Adams are engaged.

Mandy Moore and Ryan Adams.

Mandy Moore and Ryan Adams.

Oookay. I had no idea they were even a couple…

I feel like I need to make this post book or library related, so I’m going to just throw this open for comments.* What is your favorite book (fiction or non-fiction, YA or adult) about music or musicians? Or, you know, you could leave a comment about the Mandy Moore-Ryan Adams engagement.

* WordPress just added comment threading, so leave some comments, people! I want to play around with this feature, and it would be really lame if I had to reply to my own comments.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    February 20, 2009 5:28 pm

    That freaked me out too! I had absolutely no clue they were dating.

    One I really liked recently was Ain’t Nothing but a Man: My Quest to Find the Real John Henry by Scott Nelson. It’s a great nonfic mix of music and history and folklore, all wrapped up in a mystery.

  2. Jane permalink
    February 20, 2009 5:31 pm

    I don’t even know who Ryan Adams is.

  3. February 20, 2009 6:07 pm

    Wow, Mandy and Ryan have been hiding it well, because I didn’t know they were dating, either!

    My favorite book about music/musicians has to be ‘The Commitments’ by Roddy Doyle. He just gets music–something hard to convey in fiction–and the characters are all so crazy and lovable. Plus, the movie is just as good and the soundtrack is AMAZING.

  4. February 21, 2009 6:24 am

    I’m fond of King Dork by Frank Portman. All the band names = brilliant. The Scott Pilgrim GN series by Bryan Lee O’Malley = hilarious. The Last Days by Scott Westerfeld and the band that saves the world. John Lennon: All I Want is the Truth by Elizabeth Partridge is a good read, too. (A strong second for Ain’t Nothing But a Man. I wouldn’t have even thought of that title for this.)

    • February 21, 2009 5:26 pm

      I need to check out Ain’t Nothing But a Man now.

  5. mona permalink
    February 21, 2009 5:19 pm

    who is ryan adams?

    i know, you already answered. but i’m just saying that i’ve come to terms that i am old and no longer in the loop about who’s who, especially in pop music. equally depressing is that all these millennium teeny-boppers are having children, while i am still single and childless. so it goes.

    • mona permalink
      February 21, 2009 5:20 pm

      nice template change, btw.

      • February 21, 2009 5:24 pm

        Thanks!

        And I completely agree about the teenyboppers.

  6. February 22, 2009 10:32 am

    I love “Our Band Could Be Your Life” by Michael Azerrad (profiling seminal indie and punk bands of the 1980s including Black Flag, Mudhoney, Big Black, Minor Threat, and Fugazi), Azerrad’s Nirvana history, “Come As You Are,” and also “Please Kill Me” by Legs McNeill, an oral history of 1970s early hard core bands and figures like Ramones, Television, and Patti Smith. Great books!

    -Jarrett D.
    The Loft
    Evanston Public Library

  7. Alison permalink
    February 22, 2009 2:31 pm

    I like “An Equal Music” by Vikram Seth. I’m a violinst/library student so any books that involve classical music I’m partial to🙂

    • Alison permalink
      February 22, 2009 2:32 pm

      *ahem* violinist… I can spell I promise!

  8. Joanna permalink
    February 22, 2009 6:05 pm

    I read your site all the time, but I never feel I have anything to contribute. But I do on this! Ryan and Mandy dated for quite awhile and then broke up because “of all of the publicity” and Ryan Adams couldn’t handle it. Then they got back together about a month ago and all of a sudden they are engaged! So they did keep it pretty quiet until now.

    • February 24, 2009 8:22 pm

      Ohhhhh. Thanks for the info! Although, “all the publicity”? Somehow managed to elude me.

  9. March 6, 2009 1:27 pm

    I had the same reaction to this news and to the news that Hayden Christensen and Rachel Bilson are engaged.

Trackbacks

  1. Ain’t Nothing But a Man: My Quest to Find the Real John Henry by Scott Reynolds Nelson with Marc Aronson « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

