Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday #1

March 18, 2009

I love seeing what everyone else wants to read, so I thought I’d join in the fun, too. Waiting on Wednesday was created by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

wow

Here are two books I can’t wait to read.

In the I Have No Idea What It’s About (And I Was Too Lazy To Google It) But How Can I Resist This Title? category: I’m a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to Be Your Class President by Josh Lieb.

And in the Very Blah Title, But, Ooh, That Description category: Panama by Shelby Hiatt. Okay, so the first part of the Publishers Marketplace deal report is kind of blah, too. But the second half of the sentence hooked me: “based on a true story during the construction of the canal, the story of a 17-year-old girl from Ohio who becomes involved in a love affair with a Spanish aristocrat on the run for an assassination attempt on the King” (my italics).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 2:31 pm

    I want to read I am a Genius now too. Best Title ever! And apparently warner brothers has already bought the movie rights. And the author writes for the daily show! It gets better and better!
    http://www.themovieblog.com/2008/03/i-am-a-genius-of-unspeakable-evil-and-i-want-to-be-your-class-president-the-movie

    • March 19, 2009 10:30 pm

      Thanks for doing my work for me!🙂

      Seriously though, the title alone sold me on the book. I didn’t have to hunt for a plot summary to want to read it.

  2. March 19, 2009 6:32 pm

    Ooh, both of those sound cool. How do you keep track of books you’re waiting on that haven’t released yet? Is there a site that will send you an email when a book you’re interested in releases? Not sure if Amazon does that, does it?

  3. March 19, 2009 10:58 pm

    I don’t know if there’s a site that’ll notify you by email. I keep track of not-yet-published YA books on a spreadsheet, mostly because it makes collection development easier for me. For books that I personally want to read, I put them on a list using Google Docs. Maybe you could use an online calendar for the upcoming books?

  4. April 5, 2009 9:37 am

    Okay, for PANAMA, I’m not sure if I’m more impressed by the little blurb itself or the “based on a true story” bit. I mean — !!!!

    • April 6, 2009 1:23 pm

      I know! It makes me want to read some non-fiction on the construction of the Canal.

Trackbacks

  1. A not-so-quick look at three books « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

