Skip to content

Creeeeeepy

April 25, 2009
by

I recently discovered the blog Rachel Reads, and skimming her archive, I am amazed by how similar our reading tastes are. (Except that I would never spend two weeks reading The Mysteries of Udolpho. Or Anna Karenina.) I mean, we’re both looking forward to Patricia Elliott’s The Pale Assassin and hoping it’s better than Celia Rees’ Sovay, had the same addictive-but-not-well-written reaction to Simone Elkeles’ Perfect Chemistry, and liked Melissa de la Cruz’s Blue Bloods and Masquerade but not Revelations.

In terms of adult books, she likes Carol Goodman, Barbara Michaels’ Wings of the Falcon (and the Baroness Orczy’s The Scarlet Pimpernel), AND Moonraker’s Bride by Madeline Brent

If it turns out she’s also a fan of microhistories, Scandinavian mysteries, Colin Cotterill, Laura Lippman, and Carol O’Connell, this is going to move beyond creepy into scary territory and I’m going to start getting paranoid. Do I have split personalities, one of them named “Rachel,” who also blogs?

Um, kidding?

Oh, whew! She’s a fan of Colleen Gleason’s Gardella books and has read Breaking Dawn. I guess we are different people after all. And I definitely need to keep up with her blog.

Moving on, Steph’s recent post and all the comments it’s generated made me feel like I should review another book, since I haven’t done many reviews so far this year. But the last book I read was Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George, and this review at The Puck in the Midden says pretty much everything I want to say, aside from the reviewer’s preference for Juliet Mariller’s Wildwood Dancing, so I’m not sure when I’ll be reviewing another YA book. Though I will be posting a review (of a non-YA book that probably doesn’t need any more publicity) on Monday.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2009 4:25 am

    Basically, anyone who grooves on The Scarlet Pimpernel and I should be friends for life… your evil twin or not.

  2. April 26, 2009 7:08 am

    Thanks for helping me rediscover Rachel Reads. Also, you reminded me I still need to read the new Carol O’Connell.

  3. May 29, 2009 5:36 am

    Trisha, just was catching up on The YA YA YAs and stumbled across this post. I’m going to have to check out Cotterill, Lippman and O’Connell to see if I really am your twin.😉

    I thoroughly enjoyed “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”–that’s a Scandanavian mystery, right?

    • June 3, 2009 10:12 am

      Yes, it is. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but I’m looking forward to doing so.

      Thanks for commenting! I’m glad I didn’t scare you off from reading this blog or anything.🙂

join the discussion

